Hacking Question About PSRAM/NOR

Symbiotic

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I'm sure this has been touched upon a few times, but I'm having trouble finding definitive information. Just to note, I'm completely new to this particular thing.

I plan to buy an EZ Flash 3-in-1 and flash a ROM to it, then move the innards of the EZ Flash 3-in-1 to a normal GBA cartridge and use it as a single game long-term. After patching the ROM, however, the file size is 17.1mb. I understand that up to 16mb can be stored in SRAM and anything between that and 32mb is to be used with NOR.

So, assuming I use NOR, will my progress save to the battery when I use the normal save function within the game itself? Does it more or less function exactly like a legitimate Gameboy Advance game?

Also, does my slot 1 card have to support GBA Exploader to do this? Or can I buy a cheap TT card?

Thanks!

Edit: Apologies if this is the wrong forum.

how_do_i_do_that

Blue Wizard is about to die.
Trophies
You have insufficient posts to view user location.
XP
Country
Antarctica

Symbiotic

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Appreciate the response.

In any case, I've stumbled upon a problem after receiving my 3-in-1 and purchasing a cheap used GBA game from eBay. The 3-in-1 innards will not fit inside of the GBA case, even after removing the long plastic bar that is the obvious obstruction. The chips on the back of the board and the battery on the front make the 3-in-1 too thick to fit in a normal GBA cartridge (with the pins in the proper place), yet, I've read countless posts where people claim that they successfully swapped the 3-in-1 innards with that of a normal GBA cartridge.

It seems that the back of this particular GBA game's case was not made to support any chips on the back of the board and I'm afraid trying to hollow it out a bit more will result in supreme failure. Does anyone know of any cheap games that have chips on both sides of the board that would likely fit the 3-in-1?