question about preloader and bootmii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by DSTTSTINKYCARD, Dec 9, 2009.

Dec 9, 2009
  1. DSTTSTINKYCARD
    OP

    Member DSTTSTINKYCARD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Germany
    hi
    does it matter if i have bootmii as boot2 and also preloader installed?
    can i still use my boot2 nand if i get into trouble.
    also if i have boot2 backup on a wii and install cioscorp 3.5
    then did a nand restore, would the cioscorp be completly removed along with everything els i installed?

    thanks
     
  2. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Deleting BootMii/boot2 is pretty much "impossible". I mean, you nearly can't do it by accident. Only thing that is able to do is Hackmii installer and the System Menu (via update).

    ...yes, BootMii would be able to remove cIOSCORP this way. The easier way is to not install cIOSCORP, which I prefer.
     
  3. myspacee

    myspacee Newbie

    Want to add some request about this.

    In my Wii is not possible to install bootmii as boot2 but only as CIOs.

    How add more protection to my environment?

    In initial setup guide i follow, suggest me to install Preloader, but after user 'pimp my wii v1.3'
    this tool doesn't load anymore.

    I want re-add protection without broke anything. What you suggest to me?

    Also, with Bootmii installed as CIOs how can I recover my system if i brick ?

    Thank you for reading,

    m.
     
  4. Am0s

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    wii's which were released after november or round about there you cannot install mootmii to boot2, I got mine last year and can only install as IOS, the boot2 partitioned is protected in these wii's, preloader can save you from a banner brick, very little brick protection otherwise
     
  5. myspacee

    myspacee Newbie

    thank you for reply,
    so for people that can only install bootmii as IOS, exists a guide to proceed with restore ?

    And which type of brick can be solved with bootmii installed as IOS ?

    preloader is very limited solution for us, any other suggestion to fight brick ?

    thank you all,

    m.
     
  6. DSTTSTINKYCARD
    OP

    Member DSTTSTINKYCARD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Germany
    thanks for the reply mate
     

Share This Page