1. marcioap1

    OP marcioap1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'm thinking of buying an XBox 360 RGH'ed and I have a doubt about the installation of an internal HDD. I read that any HD 2.5 "can be installed. Is this true? What are the procedures to be done? Just format it through the FSD? Thanks in advance to anyone who can answer.
     
  2. DinohScene

    DinohScene Gay boy
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21,364
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yep that's true.
    You can use any sized 2.5 inch HDD (max 2TB)

    Follow me tut to reinstall and setup FSD
     
  3. marcioap1

    OP marcioap1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thanks. Excellent tutorial. Clarified several things.

    In my case, the console that I plan to buy is a Slim 4GB and comes with FSD installed. In this case, I think, basically, I should format the 2.5 "HD in FAT32, install it in the console and use the FSD to create the necessary partitions. Is this correct?

    Other question came to my mind: is there any difference in speed according to the capacity of the HDD installed?
     
  4. DinohScene

    DinohScene Gay boy
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21,364
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I think that FSD is installed on the internal MU then.

    Then it's just a matter of plonking it it, formatting it with the MS dash.
    Restoring the HDDX partition + hacked emu and setting up your scanpaths ;p

    Nope, it's locked to SATA 3 iirc.
    If you get a 7200 RPM drive then it would indeed be a little bit faster then a 5400 RPM drive but the difference between the 2 perfomance wise in games is low.
    Doesn't matter much anyway as both drives are perfect for the job ;]
    SSD's won't gain the full R/W and will preform the same as normal HDD's as the 360 doesn't know how to take advantage of SSD's
     
  5. marcioap1

    OP marcioap1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    Brazil
    So I must format the HDD through the Microsoft Dash, and not through the FSD?
    Well, I guess a 1TB 5400 RPM HDD will be just fine for me.
    Thank you very much for sharing with us your knowledge.
     
  6. DinohScene

    DinohScene Gay boy
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21,364
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yep.
    FSD doesn't have a format option afaik.
    MS dash just formats it to FATX ;]
    Then you only need to restore the HDDX partition and the emulator.
    After that is done you're good to go ;]

    No problem~
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Question, internal,