Question about general maintenance of CFW n3DS, also disappearing CIA files

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by treeman, Sep 21, 2016.

1. treeman
    OP

treeman Advanced Member

Newcomer
    Sep 6, 2016
    United States
    So I have two questions. I am a noob that followed the Phailect guide, got it working really well. Then I added some additional cia files (trying to make a kick butt legacy system, not really wanting the freeshop stuff), and all of my CFW files (FBI, homebrew, luma, etc) and a lot of my cias just vanished.

Some of you helped me get FBI and homebrew and luma back.

Now I am taking the painstaking effort of putting back all of my cia files (and some additional ones). I am noticing that some of them are randomly disappearing. What is causing this?

Also, once you get everything set up, is there anything you have to do regularly to back it up or maintain it?

Thanks!

2. Classicgamer

Classicgamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Aug 20, 2012
    United States
    Are you exceeding 300 CIA? Including badges.

3. Pecrow

Pecrow GBAtemp Maniac

Jun 23, 2015
    United States
    Badges go under the 300 limit?

4. LiamTehChikorita

LiamTehChikorita Member

Newcomer
    Nov 30, 2015
    United States
    Grassy and wooden places.
    yeah, unfortunately

5. treeman
    OP

treeman Advanced Member

Newcomer
    Sep 6, 2016
    United States
    about that many CIA alone. I'm going to cull a bunch.

What happens when you go over the 300 limit? Does it automatically delete other cia files?

6. Clydefrosch

Clydefrosch GBAtemp Psycho!

Jan 2, 2009
    Gambia, The
    normally, the system would probably send you a notice that 300 is the limit (wtf you need 300 for anyway?). however, fbi might nit care and just go for it anyways. check what happens if you remove a few of the currently visible cias. and check if the vanished ones still show up in system settings

LiamTehChikorita likes this.
  7. MartinDocNewland