Question About DTV

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by science, Sep 20, 2008.

Sep 20, 2008

Question About DTV by science at 7:17 PM (1,033 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. science
    OP

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    I live in residence, and have no TV in my room, so I was thinking of buying this... CLICK ME!

    But the problem is, I don't think I have a cable jack in my room. I might... but WHAT IS THIS I HAVE ONE OF THESE IN MY ROOM?

    [​IMG]

    Is there possibly cable behind it?

    And if the answer is no, then I was thinking of buying one of these... CLICK ME!

    Now, they seem great and all, but my question is... will these be affected by the switch to DTV? I know antenna TVs are affected, but do these count?
     
  2. PizzaPasta

    Member PizzaPasta Son of p1ngpong

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    530
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    Can you pry that little circle out?
     
  3. science
    OP

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    No, its all one piece. But I could take the faceplate off and see whats behind, but I don't want to get electrocuted lol
     
  4. DSGamer64

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    You won't get electrocuted. If you don't have TV in your room, odds are there isn't a signal even if there is a cable.
     
  5. science
    OP

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Suites have cable jacks, so I think the cable is live, if there is cable. I might have a screwdriver, I'll open it up and see whats in it.
     
  6. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    I'd borrow an antenna to first see if you get a signal. I don't know how its in Canada, but I have a 10$ cheapo HDTV antenna and I get about 7 HD channels.
     
  7. The Worst

    Banned The Worst Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    415
    Location:
    West Tempadelphia
    Country:
    United States
    if you can find a live cable you can split it and get free cable. if not you will also need a tuner CLICK HERE!

    I suggest unscrewing that panel and trying to find a cable to split.


    EDIT: hmmm, This says it has a tuner in it, but with the other thing you get a remote!
     

Share This Page