Question about DOOM ports and DS DOOM.

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by test84, Jul 18, 2008.

Jul 18, 2008
  1. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Hi,
    It seems that best solution for playing DooM on DS is "DS DOOM" and I think its good but with one major problem, it doesnt play music.
    So, If you know how to turn the music on (I dont bother making the screen smaller to give more processing power for music playback) or knows a better commercial/homebrew GBA/NDS program, please let us know, tnx.

    -testguy
     
  2. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    There is no way to turn on the music. If you are THAT desperate, try Doom and Doom II on the GBA, but they look much worse than DSDoom.
     
  3. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    umm, Desperate? I wanted to have music with the game, whats wrong with that?
     
  4. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    I meant if you're desperate enough for music, you could try the GBA versions, which have downgraded many things but have music.
     
  5. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    I wish we could somehow turn music on.
    There are some strange options in the game, if you care, that may lead to something, but their names are so vague and them being like 12 make something like 12^12 possibilities if you want to just them them aside.
     
  6. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    DS DOOM itself does not support the in-game music as far as I can remember, so it doesn't matter what options you set. Keep in mind that decoding the music would take a substantial amount of processor power, so it was probably decided that full speed was more important than music support.
     
  7. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    A-But it doesnt run at full speed, you have to reduce the screen like 2 times to get full speed.
    B- Even Midi processing takes that much of processing power?
     
  8. Unoalpho

    Member Unoalpho GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page