Question about buying a tv at 1366x768 and figuring out how good the s

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by test84, Sep 20, 2008.

  1. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Hi,
    I'm trying to get a 22" Samsung TV for my x360 urges and I noticed that its resolution is 1366 x 768 and not 720, so I wondered what will happen in the pixels over the 720, will they downscale to fit into the TV?

    Is that resolution an standard one? wikipedia says: "A common resolution used in HD Ready LCD TV panels is 1366 × 768[2] pixels instead of the ATSC Standard 1280 × 720 pixels." but I dont get it, why that resolution is standard when they call it 720p so the vertical lines should be 720, not 768 (like PC monitors).

    I searched more and it seems that this resolution is used on similar tv's too but I don't get thet either, they use same 1366x768 on a 26" TV too, so you have to basically get a worse image since you are watching the same resolution but with bigger pixels.
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it is just for a 360 get a VGA cable (and if you have to a nice monitor to match), far less money for the same amount of gain (not to mention cheap monitors are generally better that cheap HDTVs)

    Still. You will either end up with black bars or an upscaled image as you postulate.

    Also 768-720 = 48 or slightly under 7% increase on 720.
    Given I can easily do a high quality (as in hard to tell apart) double size* (and perhaps even beyond) in real time with minimal hardware there is not going to be much of a problem.

    PAL resolution is 540, double is 1080, coupled with what I said above hopefully you see why I think "HD" it has been dubbed is nothing by hype.
     
  3. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Bigger is not necessarily better. I'd go with black bars opposed to upscaling, 768/720 isn't a pretty number; I don't think it'll provide better visual than pixel-matched.

    I think the reason behind 768 has to do with monitor panels. 1024x768 panel to 1366x768 panel is just horizontally stretching so it'd require minimal change in factory setup.
    Pretty random idea but after seeing a BenQ LCD HDTV, I think the difference between a monitor and a TV is the level of decoding onboard chip can do.
     
  4. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Sorry that I don't understand much of your posts, would you please explain it a little in more simple manner?

    All I want to know is that is 1366x768 bad for 720p playing or not and why they don't produce 720p for horizontal lines and produce 48more lines that will make them to add a upscale adapter there to full screen the 720p image.

    Albeit what said, the thing that wonders me is that they say its normal to watch 720p images on 1366x768!
     
  5. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    Actually, I don' t know in your specifically case, but some HDTV do advertise a resolution of 1366x768 but don't really let you use the full, native resolution.
    Instead, you will use a standard 720p resolution and the TV will upscale the image to fit the screen, so you will not be able to see a truly 1:1 aspect ratio, and I say that because it's the same with my TV ( Sharp Aquos) and when I connect my PC to it via an HDMI cable, my videocard even has to underscan the image and cuts part of the screen in order to display the whole desktop on the screen ( otherwise stuff right on the borders such as the windows toolbar won't be visible ).
    So if I were you I would make sure that your TV actually allows you to use the full advertised resolution.
     
  6. MC DUI

    Member MC DUI GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    The TV will upscale the 720P output from your Xbox360 to 1366X768, it looks fine trust me, obviously though if you buy a cheap TV it won't look as good as it could.

    I'm running a 32 inch Panasonic LCD for my Xbox outputting 720P, there are no black bars and you don't need the VGA adaptor. You only need the VGA adaptor if you buy a monitor as opposed to a TV.

    All the other posts seem to be thinking your buying a monitor? Are you buying a normal TV?
     
  7. cory1492

    Member cory1492 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,489
    Location:
    Home, WhereElse?
    Country:
    Canada
    The smaller panels are (IMHO) basically just low quality monitor panels with some hd/tuner hardware added - I couldn't bear to watch tv on at least two sub 25" ones I've seen, and both were much more expensive than my PC LCD panel was. Put simply I was not very impressed... I'd not consider buying any widescreen TV unless it at least supported 1080i, was above 30 inch and had some customer loyalty.

    I have been using a 16:10 PC monitor (around $170USD, benq 940bw 19", really fast response time and highest res being 1440x900) with my 360 on occasion via a VGA cable (using 1360x768 setting in the dash, the VGA cable itself only set me back around $10USD from dealextreme and is excellent), the slight aspect stretch is noticeable (ie: some folks look too thin) but the picture quality is just beautiful and far exceeds the similarly sized panels I have seen (and puts my 32" SDTV to shame, just for the fact I can actually read too small game text on this monitor.)

    Supposedly the fall update for 360 is also going to add 16:10 ratios to the setup as well for monitor users [​IMG] The currently supported resolutions from the dash using the VGA cable:
    640x480, 848x480, 1024x768, 1280x720, 1280x768, 1280x1024, 1360x768, 1920x1080
    If you don't catch what I'm saying... if you don't really need a TV tuner (you have a tuner/digital box with dvi/vga out already, or don't intend to watch tv on it) you can probably get a far better PC panel at 21-22" (if not larger) than what you'd get if you bought a 21-22" tv with a tuner. If that info even helps you decide anything.
     
  8. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    My main concern is whether Xbox 360's 720p results better on 1366x768 or on 1680x1050.

    Correct me if I'm wrong since I believe 720p is nearer to 1366x768's native resolution and due to less upscaling required, it will result in a better picture quality.
     
  9. MC DUI

    Member MC DUI GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Well it all depends on the quality of the scaler in the monitor but in the end what you're saying is technically correct, less scaling is better.

    But seriously overall both will look awesome.
     
  10. Brainy142

    Member Brainy142 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Canada
    should work just get vga cable/ hdmi
     
  11. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    360 upscale chip is pretty good, 720P to 1080P is 50% increase in both vertical and horizontal and 360 can handle that well.

    1280×720 to 1366x768 upscale would be done by an onboard chip of your TV, and the result can vary from model to model. Also if you don't like 360's 720P to 1080P upscale, you can let your 360 send the TV 720P source and make the TV chip upscale it to 1080P (for native 1080P TVs). But for 720P to 768P, I don't think you can have any alternatives.
     
  12. Mars

    Member Mars Radioactive Propaganda Minister

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    United States
    Regardless it should produce great picture. I'm running my 360 on my 1680x1050 Samsung HDTV at 720p and the picture is beautiful. Also, isn't there an update coming out which would enable you to use the native resolution?

    EDIT: cory beat me to it.
    also forgot to mention that mine is hooked up via HDMI.
     
  13. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh, and I know a lot of people who use monitors hooked up to their 360.

    The only problem is that it's painful to get video out from HDMI and audio out from optical or audio cable at the same time because the slots are next to each other and 360 cable pack is humongous.

    Some people use HDMI receivers that has video bypass, some people split the cable pack and shove it in the slot.
     
  14. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    720 on 768 looks nearly pixel perfect, hard to tell unless you are looking directly at the pixels.
     
  15. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    QFT. Of course it is, that's marketing for you. It's advertised like a feature, but all it is is a high resolution.

    EDIT: Oh, and I'd just get whatever's in your price range, there isn't a big difference between 1680x1050 and 1366x768 when you're busy playing. That said, the 1680x1050 is technically better, and nearly 1080p.
     

Share This Page