Hacking Question about burning fuses

Kafluke

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
5,474
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
4,480
Country
United States
either it's off or the battery is already dead. lol. but if in doubt hold the power button for 15 seconds to make sure it's off.
That wont work with autoRCM. It will just turn itself back on again. To get a true power off you have to do it from one of the bootloaders. I use hekate when I want to really power it off. Since it stays in my dock most of the time I just use sleep mode. Never had a power drain issue
 

Tekimoto

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
68
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
122
Country
Austria
That wont work with autoRCM. It will just turn itself back on again. To get a true power off you have to do it from one of the bootloaders. I use hekate when I want to really power it off. Since it stays in my dock most of the time I just use sleep mode. Never had a power drain issue
Guys I have another problem now.I want to update from 4.1 to 5.1 but I think I cant to this with my sd card since its 64 gb and 4.1 doesnt support exfat. I also want to backup my nand .Any ideas?
 

comput3rus3r

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2016
Messages
3,575
Trophies
1
Age
121
XP
4,773
Country
United States
That wont work with autoRCM. It will just turn itself back on again. To get a true power off you have to do it from one of the bootloaders. I use hekate when I want to really power it off. Since it stays in my dock most of the time I just use sleep mode. Never had a power drain issue
so it's worse than I thought. If you're the only one using the switch it might be easy to keep it in check but when there's multiple users I'd imagine it's a nightmare. either way i've stayed away from autorcm. I don't mind using a jig every once in a while and now that i use an hdd to install new nsp's I rarely have to turn off the console.
 

ceycey

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 1, 2019
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
60
Country
Germany
Hi @All
Can someone explain in what situation my switch is:

- I had a hackable Switch on 7.0.0.
- Loaded AMS with fuse primary on a SX dongle
- Downgraded to 6.2.0. through ChoidujourNX with AutoRCM option and without system initialize option
- Now using SX OS on 6.2.0. - everything is working fine and AutoRCM is enabled

These are my questions:
Are any fuses burned at this point?
Can I ever disable AutoRCM without burning fuses?
Should I - regarding this fuse burning issue - create an Emunand of 6.2.0. and update sysNand to 7.0.1. normally through OFW?
 

Kafluke

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
5,474
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
4,480
Country
United States
Hi @All
Can someone explain in what situation my switch is:

- I had a hackable Switch on 7.0.0.
- Loaded AMS with fuse primary on a SX dongle
- Downgraded to 6.2.0. through ChoidujourNX with AutoRCM option and without system initialize option
- Now using SX OS on 6.2.0. - everything is working fine and AutoRCM is enabled

These are my questions:
Are any fuses burned at this point?
Can I ever disable AutoRCM without burning fuses?
Should I - regarding this fuse burning issue - create an Emunand of 6.2.0. and update sysNand to 7.0.1. normally through OFW?
Your fuses are already burnt to 7.x. that's why after downgrading you have to autorcm (or rcm) to boot.

Read this: https://gbatemp.net/threads/psa-stop-downgrading-unless-you-know-what-youre-doing.531861/
 

smf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
5,403
Trophies
1
XP
4,034
Country
United Kingdom
Can I ever disable AutoRCM without burning fuses?

Short answer is No

Long answer is you can disable AutoRCM but make sure you always cold boot through RCM using a jig and the buttons & it won't burn them, although if you mess this up even once then it will burn them. Also if you've already burned them, then booting normally won't burn any extra.

Every time you boot without RCM it will check to make sure you have the right number burned for the System Software version you have installed and if it's not enough then it burns more.
 

Kafluke

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
5,474
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
4,480
Country
United States
Short answer is No

Long answer is you can disable AutoRCM but make sure you always cold boot through RCM using a jig and the buttons & it won't burn them, although if you mess this up even once then it will burn them. Also if you've already burned them, then booting normally won't burn any extra.

Every time you boot without RCM it will check to make sure you have the right number burned for the System Software version you have installed and if it's not enough then it burns more.
He said he was already on 7.0. Fuses are already burnt.
 

smf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
5,403
Trophies
1
XP
4,034
Country
United Kingdom
He said he was already on 7.0. Fuses are already burnt.

Right, but that doesn't really answer the specific question. I covered that scenario "Also if you've already burned them, then booting normally won't burn any extra." I think people misunderstand what fuses are for, they seem to think they are a punishment thing or only get burned when hacking.

I also didn't want to assume that when he said he had a Switch on 7.0 that it meant that he'd booted into it normally, he may have updated and then gone straight into RCM.
 
Last edited by smf,

fst312

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
1,005
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
New York
XP
2,029
Country
United States
What I read in the first page if I’m correct once I loaded my switch with official firmware my fuses get burned. I have 8 burned fuses. I updated a while back from 5.1-6.2 using homebrew to avoid burning fuses at that time, going to check if I have a photo from my 5.1 update. Unfortunately when I was 4.1 when I first got my switch, I updated officially from Nintendo.
 

smf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
5,403
Trophies
1
XP
4,034
Country
United Kingdom
What I read in the first page if I’m correct once I loaded my switch with official firmware my fuses get burned. I have 8 burned fuses. I updated a while back from 5.1-6.2 using homebrew to avoid burning fuses at that time, going to check if I have a photo from my 5.1 update. Unfortunately when I was 4.1 when I first got my switch, I updated officially from Nintendo.

8 burned fuses means you booted 6.2.0 normally.
 

ceycey

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 1, 2019
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
60
Country
Germany
I also didn't want to assume that when he said he had a Switch on 7.0 that it meant that he'd booted into it normally, he may have updated and then gone straight into RCM.

After I downgraded I only booted once to CFW with RCM mode.
So if I get that right I just should leave AutoRCM enabled even if I use Emunand and update sysnand back to 7.0 ?

Sorry this eFuse thing is conFUSEing af to me lol...
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,092
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,410
Country
United States
After I downgraded I only booted once to CFW with RCM mode.
So if I get that right I just should leave AutoRCM enabled even if I use Emunand and update sysnand back to 7.0 ?

Sorry this eFuse thing is conFUSEing af to me lol...
Should probably read this then: https://gbatemp.net/threads/faq-efuses.494404/

One or two things are outdated such as being able to bypass the fuse check which we can do with all current bootloaders.
 

ceycey

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 1, 2019
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
60
Country
Germany
Okay, so as far as I understand:

currently 9 fuses are burnt because switch was on 7.0.0.
Creating an EmuNAND of my current 6.2. version and then updating sysNAND to 7.0.1. should not cause any problems for EmuNAND usage and with disabling AutoRCM.
 

fst312

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
1,005
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
New York
XP
2,029
Country
United States
8 burned fuses means you booted 6.2.0 normally.
I know I booted normally, sadly in the end updating without burning fuses meant nothing, well since I updated atmosphere a few days ago, I started using autorcm, before I didn’t because I didn’t like the fact of my switch wasting battery when turned off.
 

Vendo232

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 14, 2013
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
155
Country
United States
Guys If I have updated sysnand to 9.0 and my emunand is on 8.1 will I burn my fuse if I boot again to emunand 8.1?

I`m having hard time understanding the scenario when I would burn my fuses considering SXOS is disabling fuses count so booting with AutoRCM should be fine and when you boot to OFW without RCM you should have always the right amount of fuses. Help me please at what scenario I will burn fuses if I keep both emunand and sysnand with the same FW
 

gierso

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 1, 2014
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
56
Country
Mexico
Hey hello
I'm reviving this post but I don't want to create a new one


I'm currently on ofw 8.1 ( with any fused burned because of that )
I don't have exfat support and I want to do the switch without going to 9.0

I will try updating to the same firmware (8.1 exfat via choidujournx


My question is will this burn additional fuses if accidently booted normally or the ones already burnt count as 8.1 for either version ?



Enviado desde mi Pixel 3 XL mediante Tapatalk
 
Last edited by gierso,

8BitWonder

Small Homebrew Dev
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
2,426
Trophies
1
Location
47 4F 54 20 45 45 4D
XP
4,352
Country
United States
Hey
I'm receiving this post but I don't want to create a new one


I'm currently on ofw 8.1 ( with any fused burned because of that )
I don't have exfat support and I want to do the switch without going to 9.0

I will try updating to the same firmware (8.1 exfat via choidujournx


My question is will this burn additional fuses if accidently booted normally or the ones already burnt count as 8.1 for either version ?



Enviado desde mi Pixel 3 XL mediante Tapatalk
8.1.0 expects 10 fuses to be burned regardless of whether you have the exFat driver installed or not.

If you use choidujournx to re-install 8.1.0 with exFat, you will not burn any additional fuses.
 
  • Like
Reactions: gierso

gierso

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 1, 2014
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
56
Country
Mexico
8.1.0 expects 10 fuses to be burned regardless of whether you have the exFat driver installed or not.

If you use choidujournx to re-install 8.1.0 with exFat, you will not burn any additional fuses.
Thanks a lot !

Enviado desde mi Pixel 3 XL mediante Tapatalk
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: Mixing stimulants can have side effects, WHO KNEW?