Quake question...

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Yyhhggtt, Oct 13, 2009.

Oct 13, 2009

Quake question... by Yyhhggtt at 8:11 PM (1,001 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Yyhhggtt
    OP

    Member Yyhhggtt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    In my Wii at Saskatchewan.
    Country:
    Canada
    Is it possible? I love death matching with bots on a FPS (Prefect Dark 64....). but is it possible for Quake? A mod? A full version of it? Doom has it? Anything? Thanks.
     
  2. House Spider

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    I think there is only an Quake One port at the minute and that only has online Death Matches which work. This is an active server, quake.runequake.com which you need the PAK1 file for.
     
  3. Yyhhggtt
    OP

    Member Yyhhggtt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    In my Wii at Saskatchewan.
    Country:
    Canada
    Kk... Thanks, I'll give it a try...
     
  4. vettacossx

    Member vettacossx Wii Theme Team Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Right Behind You! Uh Oh!
    Country:
    Ireland
    By default the Q1 port uses ICOH quake servers

    http://www.quake.ihoc.net/maps.html

    My Halo GX mod uses the same ( I would like to add a capture the flag but cant find a decent place like IHOC to host the maps for it [​IMG]

    Its up to 4 players online with IHOC and Q1 Wii port...
     
  5. OriginalHamster

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,285
    Country:
    Chile
    What´s the most active server? Every time I go online finish shoting the walls, I want to shot people.
     
  6. House Spider

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    quake.runequake.com is a pretty active server. There is a list of servers on Quakeone.com. By the way, just like on the PC, you can't use cheats online.
     
  7. OriginalHamster

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,285
    Country:
    Chile
    yep, it's pretty active, thanks!
    By the way my nick is OmegaRidley, I getting really bad lag while playing =(, it's very random though...
     
  8. House Spider

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    Really? I think the PC is worse than my Wii with Quake. Another good thing about it is kimp isn't on it. He cheats online and gets IP banned, then he comes back with a different IP. =P
     
  9. OriginalHamster

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,285
    Country:
    Chile
    I wonder if the project still on, there a few things to iron out like, online lag, and corrupted saves, hope someone keep this project alive, love Quake.
     
  10. vettacossx

    Member vettacossx Wii Theme Team Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Right Behind You! Uh Oh!
    Country:
    Ireland
    piko is a "summer developer" but we can hope he updates it again [​IMG] anyone checked his blog to see if theres a ETA?
     

Share This Page