Quake, Doom and Wolfenstein DS

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by hollabackitsobi, Sep 8, 2007.

Sep 8, 2007
  1. hollabackitsobi
    OP

    Member hollabackitsobi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    I'm really big into FPS as most are, and really big into the DS so when looking through directories of homebrew games and ports, I always run into these games but never try them since it's so complicated to get them to work. If anyone can provide a small step by step for each of these games and maybe provide links to the shareware map files (like the pak0.pak and .wad files for Quake and Doom respectively), I'd be much obliged. Thanks in advance.

    Oh, and out of the other shooter ports out there, which ones are free? I know there's Hexen, Heretic and RoTT, but I don't know which ones are shareware/can be played for free. Thanks again.
     
  2. hollabackitsobi
    OP

    Member hollabackitsobi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
  3. roguetrip

    Member roguetrip GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    Stay away from HeXen .26, it corrupted my Kingston 2GB SD card, that was DLDI patched.

    But anyways, almost all these ports don't include a needed (.pak, .wad, etc) file for legal reason.

    I'll give ya a quick run down on quakeDS prerelease 2, just go here and use How to Play.

    http://www.quake.drunkencoders.com/ LOL

    Most others seem to use similar methods to get the game running.
     
  4. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Quake's port is very good, check it out, sometimes it lags, but i like it.
    Wolf3D's port is VERY good indeed too.
     
  5. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They were all available as shareware games but just the 1st episode is free. Some of the ports I've played have also allowed me to play homemade levels and episodes.
     
  6. dawn.wan

    Member dawn.wan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    any1 have any updates on this? after playing dementium i feel like some good ol' doom and quake.

    any speed issues, crashes, or anything of that matter?
     
  7. Warren_303

    Member Warren_303 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Westcoast
    Country:
    United States
  8. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, Doom works very well on the Nintendo DS
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I've had some minor problems with certain enemies appearing nearly invisible for some reason (but only some of the time), but otherwise Doom is perfectly playable.
     
  10. dawn.wan

    Member dawn.wan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, Doom is good.. only beef is that there is no touch screen support... then again it's doom, i played this with the Arrow keys and the CTRL button way before i discovered WASD and the mouse on Duke Nuke'm 3d... I wonder if i can run doom 2 off this, maybe i'll try this later... i might do some testing with expansion wads (like the barney or simpsons WADs). Otherwise if you just want your good old Doom, pick this up.

    Quake is good, there are some laggy moments w/o ram expansion. but with features like touch screen support, on screen keyboard or on screen short-cuts with customizable controls... and you can even use the console.. This is a must.. in total it only takes up like 50mb so y not?

    i cant believe ppl made a RoTT port... i didnt think that game was that popular... wonder if a duke nukem 3d port will hit the scene...

    [edit] or even shadow warrior... mite take a look into this if the source has been released.
     
  11. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
  12. dawn.wan

    Member dawn.wan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    thanks for the tip... it is very laggy and major adjustments had to be done to the controls just to move around... if want Duke 3D give it a try, although you may find it unplayable it still has that cool factor that you got it on your DS... otherwise pass..
     
  13. SchuchWun

    Member SchuchWun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    The Burbs
    Country:
    Canada
    wolf3d, RoTT and Doom rock. I am totally gonna check out quake!!!!
     
  14. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    the wolf port right now only has a few levels up and running. i found the gba version the exact same game including all the evil images and blood. if you own a slot2 it is the better solution right now. the nice thing about the doom port is that it supports 99.5% of prboom compatable wad files. i personally converted over 100 i dled off various doom wad sites and play through them on my ds all the time. also the wifi with the prboom server is less buggy than the build (and adhoc) found in the quake ports. the quake II port is already very playable, and quake I supports some custom wads as well.

    they are all worth checking out.

    -another world
     

Share This Page