Q: How to map L R buttons to Y X with 3in1/AKAIO?

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by surferboy, May 27, 2010.

May 27, 2010
  1. surferboy
    OP

    Newcomer surferboy Newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Hello,

    With an EZFlash 3in1 and an Acekard/AKAIO, is it possible to map the L and R buttons to be replaced/duplicated by the Y and X buttons? I googled/searched around but with little success. Is it possible? If not, does anyone have any hard info on why not? Thanks!
     
  2. Exaltys

    Member Exaltys GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    United States
    This is just me talking from no experience in the field but I presume that this is not possible. Correct me if I'm wrong, but these things just flash the GBA rom to the DS's slot-2, using the DS's GBA mode. So you cannot switch what buttons map to what controls.
     
  3. Sonic0509

    Member Sonic0509 Sometimes I'm Maryushi3

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
  4. kaputnik

    Member kaputnik GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    Sweden
    The button mapping is hardcoded, afaik the DS even turn off the other buttons (or well, stops the hardware listening to input from them is probably a more correct way of putting it) together with other DS specific hardware components when going into GBA mode.

    Perhaps a firmware hack could do it, but I seriously doubt it. If it was possible, Flashme would have it implemented already, it's not like you're the first one to ask for this :>

    [edit] If you're a real badass with the soldering iron, and have worked some with SM components before, it would probably be possible to install a switch to physically remap the buttons. You'd have to find a really tiny one with plenty of poles though. I don't dare to guess how many poles you'd need since I have no idea how the controller circuit works. Basically it boils down to if you have to switch both sides of the buttons (if the signal is fed back to the controller chip(unlikely)) or just one (if the button just connects an input on the controller circuit to a power source or a ground connection (more likely))

    [edit2] Forget the first edit, I misunderstood what you wanted to do first. A simple solution could be to just parallel couple the X button with the R button and the Y button with the L button. And of course you'd want a switch to break the parallel coupling too.
     
  5. flamingo24

    Member flamingo24 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
     

Share This Page