PuzzleManiak 3.0

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Alx, Nov 12, 2007.

Nov 12, 2007

PuzzleManiak 3.0 by Alx at 9:57 PM (1,264 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Alx
    OP

    Member Alx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    France
    Finally, after 6 beta versions (!!!) the version 3.0 is ready to be released.
    Unfortunately, it doesn’t mean that there is no bug inside, but it’s not a beta version, so you can expect more stability.

    There are a lot of changes since version 2.7 and also some changes since latest version 3.0 beta 6:

    * MP3 Support (thanks TOM)
    * When the Nintendo DS is closed and an mp3 is playing, pressing buttons ‘L’ / ‘R’ will go to the previous/next song in your mp3 playlist.
    => This feature can be disabled in new ‘options’ screen (see below)
    * Past Daily Challenges can be played again and again (without submitting your scores, for sure!)
    * Press ‘Select’ to change screen’s brightness
    * Several players can play the game on the same Nintendo DS => For each one, a profile is stored so that the user keep his settings like language, colors, background, mp3 folder, mp3 options (repeat all, repeat one, mp3 path) and so on… The 3 players have their own score file, and a ‘overall local ranking’ is managed, so that you can train yourself against your scores, but also against all scores on your NDS.
    * When displaying scores, you can switch between your scores, scores of other players, local overall scores and overall scores downloaded via wifi by pressing the Left / Right buttons.
    * A new options screen has been added:
    New Options (v3.0)
    where you can:
    o Select whether to download/display wifi scores automatically or not
    o Select to repeat all the mp3s in your playlist or not
    o Select to repeat the current mp3 of your your playlist or not
    o Select whether to use the buttons L/R to browse the mp3 playlist when the NDS is closed or not
    * DLDI patching is required.
    * PuzzleManiak file and “PZMK” folder must be extracted on your sd card root.
    * The file PuzzleManiak.sco is now located in Pzmk folder.
    * If you’re not a new player, you should replace the provided PuzzleManiak.sco by your one. This puzzlemaniak.sco file stores the overall ranking, while the Player0.Sco file stores the socres of the player with the 1st profile, and so on. So, if you’re alone playing PuzzleManiak on your NDS, you should also replace the PLAYER0.SCO file by a copy of your old PuzzleManiak.sco file (obviously renamed to player0.sco). I hope this is not too confusing…

    I spent a lot of time on this new version, so I hope you’ll have fun with it.

    As usual, all feedbacks would be really appreciated.

    http://www.puzzlemaniak.com/blog/

    Alx
     
  2. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    coooooooooooooooL
     
  3. sirAnger

    Member sirAnger GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    359
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    I want to have your babies. This is a most impressive piece of homebrew.
     
  4. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    this is fucking demoniak!
     
  5. hollabackitsobi

    Member hollabackitsobi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
  6. Mr Slug

    Newcomer Mr Slug Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    Can someone help me set PuzzleManiak v3.0 on an R4.

    well i have it dldi, unzipped, i have tried putting folder on sd card with the .nds file on root get black screen, tried other ways too and i got it to load a title screen? with the mirror writing on bottom of the top screen but nothing happens after that it just stays no keys or buttons or stylus work.

    so if anyone can help me as i must be missing something quite simple as i have lemming up an running ok and atari st ok too so i do have an idea of what to do, this puzzle collection homebrew looks interesting and i would like it to work.


    i put the pzmk folder in the root and tried the PuzzleManiak.nds on the root with it, and then tried PuzzleManiak.nds inside of the pzmk folder, also tried taking all file an folders out of pzmk and put on root with PuzzleManiak.nds and i have had no luck to get it playing just seems to either be black screen or the title screen with mirror text at bottom of top ds screen the bottom screen stays black all time?


    i have also read the how to set it up on the puzzlemaniak webpage it just dont seem to work??


    should the ini file be in the root of card???
     
  7. Alx
    OP

    Member Alx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    France
    only the PuzzleManiak.nds file must be on the root.
    all other files must be licated in pzmk folder, which must be on the root too.

    This should look like that:

    PuzzleManiak.nds

    pzmk/pzmk.ini
    pzmk/PuzzleManiak.sco
    pzmk/...

    I know that for a R4, you must have the last firmware.

    If this still doesn't work, try to set your name on the NDS without any "strange" characters (like ")àç_è-(' or even the blank space).

    Tell me if this works or not.


    I just released a version 3.1 that fixes some bugs of version 3.0...
     
  8. Mr Slug

    Newcomer Mr Slug Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    got version 3.1 and no luck with that i still get same problem it loads up to the title screen with the mirror text at bottom of the top DS screen, the touch screen is total blackness nothing.

    Folder pzmk must be installed on linker's root.
    And dile PuzzleManiak.nds (or .sc.nds or .gba) also.

    DLDI patching is mandatory.

    DONE ALL THAT^^^^^^^^^^^DONE IT nothing zip dodo dada dodo, i think my heads going to pop now as i have tried so much to get this to work.

    i dont know why this wont work as everything else works fine lemmings, atari st emu, snes, nes, coloco, genesis, sms, GBC.


    my firmwares the v1.11. 2gb kingston jap fat 32.
     
  9. Alx
    OP

    Member Alx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    France
    I just got a R4, and it works fine.
    The only difference between us is that my micro SD card is formatted in FAT mode, not in FAT32.

    Would you please try that?

    Did you change your name too?
    Try "Alx"...

    Try to start with the new version 3.1 also.

    Good luck and keep me informed.
     

Share This Page