Punch out!! Not loading

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by gamerjr, May 21, 2009.

May 21, 2009

Punch out!! Not loading by gamerjr at 2:57 AM (1,246 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. gamerjr
    OP

    Member gamerjr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    Ok i have the PAL version of Punch Out!! on my NTSC Wii and when i goto boot it i get a black screen with nothing else. I am using a DVD because currently the only USB drive i have that will work with the launcher is only 2 GB. Any advice and i've burnt it twice with the same problem.
     
  2. kyogc

    Member kyogc GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Known issue. Try NTSC version then...
     
  3. gamerjr
    OP

    Member gamerjr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    *sigh* i dont like that answer try another.
     
  4. imapterodactyl

    Member imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    1) Be sure you're forcing NTSC
    2) Be sure you've got the IOS the game needs, or it will black screen. It uses one of the new ones. I'll bet you don't have 38, 53, and 55. Install them. Even if it doesn't work for some reason, there are other games that need them, and there will be plenty more in the future.
     
  5. gamerjr
    OP

    Member gamerjr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    Well i just updated my Wii to 4.0 wouldnt that fix everything? For the IOS's atleast
     
  6. imapterodactyl

    Member imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    If you used Waninkoko's updater, no. You still need to install those IOSes manually. The Waninkoko updater installs only the files needed for SysMenu4.0 to run properly. Here are the filenames of the IOSes you need:

    IOS38-64-v3609
    IOS53-64-v4113
    IOS55-64-v4633
     
  7. comet77

    Member comet77 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Ues a tool to check for updates in the iso like "wiizle diizle shizzle".
     
  8. imapterodactyl

    Member imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    An update on the disc won't cause a black screen error, though. It'll just try to force you to update. Easiest solution for this, rather than removing the update from every single individual disc, is just to use Preloader and turn on the "block disc update" hack (don't remember the hack's exact name off the top of my head).
     
  9. gamerjr
    OP

    Member gamerjr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    i just updated through Ninty so i should have all of the IOS's.
     
  10. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Really? Well, I guess you're out of luck. Find teh NTSC version
     
  11. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    Try Gecko OS / Softchip... and if they don't work, try playing with forced video modes. Quite often NTSC games behave this way on my PAL wii when launched from the disc channel, but are fine using the other loaders.
     
  12. bugaveli

    Banned bugaveli Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    664
    Location:
    In a remote place
    Country:
    United States
    Pal Punchout forced NTSC is working fine for me maybe its your rip, or ios missing
    Im on 4.0u usb loader coverflow, but I also tested it thru BKUP Launcher gamma with 002 fix no problems

    cios rev 10
     
  13. kyogc

    Member kyogc GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Taiwan
    @bugaveli

    Can you boot PAL Little King Story on your NTSC wii?
     

Share This Page