psx2psp questions & psx emulation in general

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by rs4, Jul 24, 2008.

Jul 24, 2008
  1. rs4
    OP

    Newcomer rs4 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Ok guys, I've got a problem and hopefully someone can help me out here.

    -I've got a psp phat loaded with 4.01 m33-2
    -the most recent psx2psp
    -vagrant story.mdf
     
  2. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Try actually converting the mdf file not just renaming, I think some eboot compilers can actually read off the mdf files.

    MagicISO should be able to convert. It's not a free program though.
     
  3. rs4
    OP

    Newcomer rs4 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Ok, tried Magiciso to convert the .mdf to .iso

    Then used the .iso to create the eboot file with
    -icetea 1.3
    -psx2psp
    -popstationgui

    All resulted in black screen.

    When I tried to run the game with the eboot that was created with icetea, I see a loading screen that says "booting playstation bios SCPH100.BIN"

    blargh, I guess I'll give up on Vagrant Story =\

    edit - I won't bother with VS until I get a proper file, the game won't even boot up in epsxe.
     
  4. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Looks like you got a bad file from the get go then. I know for sure that Vagrant Story works, as I've actually converted and played it.
     
  5. ndstuff

    Member ndstuff GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Poland
  6. mrgone

    Member mrgone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    Germany
    i played through vagrant story.
    you need to have a bin/cue, iso works too, but bin/cue is best

    a usually mount a mdf with deamon tools, then rip the disc to bin/cue with eg. cdrwin


    the screen "loading playstation bios..." is just a starting screen, it can be replaced at eboot-creation time
     

Share This Page