psx backups on psx

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by tomqman, Dec 30, 2007.

Dec 30, 2007

psx backups on psx by tomqman at 10:30 PM (2,255 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok i just wanted to know whats the best/easiest way to play my psx backups on my psx.(i have the big phat square psx and the little small 1)
     
  2. bfoos

    Member bfoos GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Country:
    United States
    The best way is obviously a mod-chip. You can also get one of those Caetla clone game enhancers. They are sometimes referred to as a plug mod. If you happen to have a GS/AR Pro, you can flash it with AR stop to load backups, but you lose the Vmem on the cart of you do it. Then there is the breaker pro. It's a swap disk. And finally, there is the old school swap trick.
     
  3. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi thanks for reply do you know any uk sites with the plugin mod as that would be best as its for my girlfriends dad
     
  4. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    Note that some games will not work right with a plugmod (or any other method that uses a swap trick). Some games will run but without music while others will crash or not work at all. If you have a Gameshark or AR you don't need to buy a plugmod. You just use a spring or some other method of holding the lid sensor down. Then you just boot up the cheat disc and it will stop spinning then swap with your copy.
     
  5. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    dont hav ar or gameshark. does any1 know how good Breaker Pro v1.1 is at playing backups
     
  6. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    All the swap methods will have the same compatibility because they don't modify any signal inside of the Playstation. They just make it so they Playstation first reads a legitimate Playstation disc and then stop the drive from spinning so you can swap with your copy.
     
  7. Saturnplanet5

    Member Saturnplanet5 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Australia
    Get a modchip it'll make life alot easier. They're a sinch to install.
     
  8. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    have you got a guide for psx modchiping and where to buy(uk)
     
  9. Saturnplanet5

    Member Saturnplanet5 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Australia
    Code:
    http://www.cyber-mag.com/station/ps1.htm
    No sure if it's UK but there's a guide there.

    "Google" should help u out.
     
  10. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nah im going to go with Breaker Pro
     
  11. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,706
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  12. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    not everyone has the pc hardware to run playstaion games on the pc, and it's more comfortable to be sitting in a comfy chair and playing than playing on a small pc monitor.
     
  13. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    They have them at consolesource.com but you're SOL if you live in the US since they won't ship there anymore. They must have been caught one too many times by customs. [​IMG]
     
  14. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol thats cool they still sell them then.
     
  15. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,706
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    While I agree a TV is often nicer I seem to recall Bleem running OK and that came on floppy discs which means about 8 years ago at least.
     
  16. bfoos

    Member bfoos GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, most everybody has decent enough hardware to emulate PSX these days.
     
  17. tomqman
    OP

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i can and do play psx games on my pc. my girlfriends dad wants to play at his house but doesnt like using computers much and would rather just play in his psx. can he play ps1 backups on his ps2 usings memor32 with Mementoteam??
     

Share This Page