PSVita firmware 1.80 blocks VHBL(with a update to CMA)

Discussion in 'PS Vita - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Ryupower, Aug 28, 2012.

  1. Ryupower
    OP

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,762
    Country:
    United States
    Now that 1.80, a new VHBL should be coming out, BUT
    with 1.80 comes an update to CMA, and that is BAD NEWS as the update version of CMA ,(open CMA Can't help)
    prevents us from copying the VHBL files, ad well as homebrews, to the memory card.

    It might be some time till the a way is found to get around that

    Source
     
  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,766
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Figures they'd update it eventually. Well, hopefully a workaround can be found.
     
  3. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,994
    Country:
    That's why I kept my PSP Go with 6.20 Pro.
     
    2 people like this.
  4. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    Bingo,

    I don't see the point of playing the cat and mouse game just for an handfull of homebrew that works perfectly fine on the good old psp (exact same situation for the 3DS, keep a dslite, or buy cheap one).
    When they'll be real psvita homebrew then it will be different, but for now keep your psp.
     
  5. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,994
    Country:
    Besides, many of the 16 bit emulators aren't very good without kernel access for the media engine.
     
  6. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    Yea with you on this one. Still why would anyone throw away their PSP for a Vita, its better to have both.
     
  7. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,994
    Country:
    Exactly. The only PSP games I have on my Vita are ones that benefit from the improved hardware such as the 3rd birthday (dual analog sticks!) and I haven't run across any PSP game (not counting unofficial PSX eboots) that doesn't work on my PSP Go and that includes BBS.
     
  8. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    I don't have any PSP games on my Vita cause well most of my PSP games are JRPGs so if I wanted to play it on a bigger screen I just hook it up to my TV or computer and even if they're on the Vita the controls would be the same. Still being a gamer is keeping your old consoles to play with for nostalgia or whatever it just not as fun if you throw them away.
     
  9. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,994
    Country:
    For some games like the 3rd birthday the right analog stick mapping really helps and some look quite a bit better with the upscaling but you are right, most aren't worth it.
     
  10. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    I agree for games like the 3rd birthday a 2nd analog stick is needed cause playing with just 1 is bloody irritating, I tried and as much as I love the game I can't get used to the controls.
     
  11. junn

    Member junn .

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    382
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    United States
    good thing that Open Cma R3 can still patch the latest PC version of CMA.
    backup or transfer the games,saves,music,& pics without going online.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  12. Chaosruler

    Member Chaosruler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    Tekoa
    Country:
    Israel
    How the hell you got above 100 GB free space in your Vita?
     
  13. Ryupower
    OP

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,762
    Country:
    United States
    i think that is NOT the vita Free space
    it the PC (that HDD that the files are on or being copy to)
     
  14. Chaosruler

    Member Chaosruler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    Tekoa
    Country:
    Israel
    You mean to tell me that the Vita scans the target hardware via the USB without asking for... anything?
     
  15. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,994
    Country:
    No, the CMA software (whether original or patched with OpenCMA) is what checks for free space and reports it to the Vita.
     
  16. djricekcn

    Member djricekcn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    i'm glad JP Vita supports allt he games I have...so no worry for VHBL for me anymore
     

Share This Page