PSP Official Firmware 6.20

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by GreatZimkogway, May 4, 2010.

May 4, 2010
  1. GreatZimkogway
    OP

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible to still put in a CFW once a PSP is at 6.20? Or is it even worth it? I'd like to know before I order a Pandora for it...
     
  2. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Depends on the psp. If 1k yes if a hackable 2k yes all else no.
     
  3. GreatCrippler

    Member GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Country:
    United States
    Depends on the PSP model. 1k Fat, 2K Slim, 3k Slim, or Go... Which do you have?
     
  4. GreatZimkogway
    OP

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    A good ol' 1000. Was a choice between that or a 3000, so I went with the 1000.
     
  5. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Then yes. I had 6.20 to try the Assualt Survive demo then I used a pandora to go back to 5.00 m33. (yes I still use m33 [​IMG])
     
  6. GreatZimkogway
    OP

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, so I should be fine with ordering one? One more thing, how big of a memory stick do you need for installing custom firmware? I ordered a 4gb one when ordering the Pandora, I'm just not 100% sure if it'll be an official one. But I have a 1gb one that I know should work for it. Won't use it for homebrew and games and the like, but if I can use that for installing, that'd be better...
     
  7. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    I use a 4gb. [​IMG] I used it for installing cfw and for games. You can use that 1gb.
     
  8. fgghjjkll

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,039
    Country:
    Australia
    Make sure it's Magicgate supported.
     
  9. GreatZimkogway
    OP

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
  10. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
  11. GreatZimkogway
    OP

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    So I cannot use it for installing custom firmware? Crap. And why are so many people viewing my topic? ;_;
     
  12. grubbymitts

    Member grubbymitts GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Country:
    Probably not if it comes from Deal Extreme or any of the Hong Kong suppliers. They usually tend to be fakes - even if they do say MagicGate on them. Do yourself a favour and fork out for a 1gb official one or at least a Sandisk MS for your CFW magic card. Use the fake one for games.
     
  13. GreatZimkogway
    OP

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    I already said, I DO have a 1gb Sandisk one. W/e, we'll see when I get it
     
  14. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    press triangle then pick information(?) and see if its magicgate supported(which most likely it is)
     
  15. GreatZimkogway
    OP

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    My 1gb one does say "Supported". Guess that's good. Hopefully my 4gb one will be too...
     
  16. I2aven's_Sag

    Member I2aven's_Sag GBATemp Otaku

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Well, you only need 1 Magic Gate supported MS for use for making a MMS IIRC. I'm using a fake 8GB photoflash (2x4GB) and it works fine for games and what not [​IMG].
     
  17. nico445

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i use my fake 8gb one from dealextreme for installing cfw, isnt any problem with it, used it on psp 2000's and 1000's [​IMG]
     
  18. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My sticky thread should help with what you need to install CFW using the pandora method. The 1 gigabtye MS will be fine; during the flashing process, if you wish to backup NAND (which is recommended), you will need 66MB of space, so 128MB is the recommended minimum.
     

Share This Page