Psp ISO size?

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by solange82200, May 25, 2008.

May 25, 2008

Psp ISO size? by solange82200 at 3:51 AM (4,062 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. solange82200
    OP

    Member solange82200 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    I've seen one that is 1.3 gb on one site, and the same game is 700 mb on another site. What's the difference? About how many games can you fit on a 4gb memory stick? Can you compress the games without sacrificing quality? Also, I know what ISO is, but what is a CSO? Thanks! [​IMG]
     
  2. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    Most likely the 700MB one is either (or both) ripped (content removed) or compressed.
    Depends, eg, Diner Dash was 13MB, God of War: Chains of Olympus was ~1500MB.
    Yes, see below.
    CSOs are ISOs compressed, there are 9 levels, almost always they are compressed at the 9th level. Use UMDGEN for CSO-ISO or ISO-CSO.
     
  3. [M]artin

    Member [M]artin .

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,658
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty much what myuusmeow said.

    You may want to scan over these two pages to clear up some quick questions as well as find a link for UMDGEN. [​IMG]
     
  4. solange82200
    OP

    Member solange82200 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Perfect, everything i needed to know, Thanks guys
     
  5. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Can you run CSO's without de-compressing them?
     
  6. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, in almost all games it works great, some games they're still slow when the CPU is clocked to 333MHz (normally 222MHz).
     
  7. solange82200
    OP

    Member solange82200 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    That's one thing I saw that I dont quite get, what is this 333mhz, and how can you change that on the psp?
     
  8. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Hold down the right shoulder button, as you turn on the PSP ... and a menu will appear ...

    Go to CPU Speed ...

    Change the settings to 333 ...

    Select Back ...

    Select Exit ...
     
  9. Doomsday Forte

    Member Doomsday Forte GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    United States
    I've seen as high as a gig and a half (Crisis Core), heard of as much as two gigs (Syphon Filter), and as low as 133MB (Space Invaders Extreme). Average of 700 is fair, though with CSOs you really get the choice of having full game quality (debatable) versus storage space.

    I personally like putting just ISOs on the stick since I'm not going to suddenly feel compelled to play those other games I have on there, though it is full the way it is. That and finding only CSOs of that one game you really want is kinda annoying too, since you have no idea what's been cut from the game, but I didn't know about UMDGEN though I do have that. XD Oh well.
     
  10. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2GB would not fit on a UMD ... and as for CSOs, they are easy enough to create using programs like YACC ...

    A CSO has nothing cut from the game ... they are compressed complete versions of the game, and you can uncompress them easily with YACC ...

    UMDRIPs are the ones that have had things cut out ...
     
  11. solange82200
    OP

    Member solange82200 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Thx Bobevil, so you recommend changing it 333 mHz? I saw someone comment on it shortening your battery life if you do that, is that true?
     
  12. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    You can't have it both ways, I'm afraid ... more speed = more power ... I have it set to 333, and just leave it there ... I'd rather have more speed and less juice, myself ...
     
  13. solange82200
    OP

    Member solange82200 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    BTW, I just tried YACC, much easier for me to use that UMDGEN, thanks for that tip
     
  14. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No worries [​IMG]
     
  15. Anakir

    Member Anakir Project: Melee

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,253
    Location:
    Canada.
    Country:
    Canada
    Just use a psp Phat battery when you're at 333 mhz, and you'll have more power and more battery life. If you're using a psp slim, get a phat battery and a closing case for the battery pack. At least.. this is what I've heard of.
     

Share This Page