1. r240p4

    OP r240p4 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Hi guys, maybe somebody can help me? I got a crt tv (sony KV-20FV300) and I wanted to connect my psp go to try ps1 games in there. I got the component cables for the psp go. The image is there, but I got no sound. My psp go is with 4:3, interlace settings. Is there anything else I should check on the psp go, or maybe is there a TV setting I need to change? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. JFizDaWiz

    JFizDaWiz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    do other systems have working sound? are you able to try a different set of cables for the PSP?
     
  3. Dark Ronin

    Dark Ronin GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Country:
    Russia
    There shouldn't be any obstacles. Did you use popsloader? Are you loading game with it?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Wait, are you using component cable as composite? And why interlase, you should use progressive.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Please, share a picture of your cable attached to tv.
     
  4. JFizDaWiz

    JFizDaWiz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    how is he going to use progressive scan on an SDTV?
     
  5. Shady Guy Jose

    Shady Guy Jose GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    Portugal
    That applies to the component cables in and of themselves. SDTVs shouldn't have component input at all. So I'm thinking OP probably either has one of those rare 1080i HD CRTs or is using composite cables instead of component
     
  6. r240p4

    OP r240p4 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    it's a sony KV-20FV300. It has component, but I guess it outputs up to 480i. If I put progressive mode, the image just doesnt show. I will take a pic right now of my connection, Im pretty sure is correct. Also, the psp go is hacked, and I am using a ps1 game. The sound is fine on the psp go itself, but as soon as I connect it to the tv, no more sound.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I dont have another system to try on that tv unfortunately. And I cant even connect my psp go on my 4k tv either because it doesnt have component cables.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

     

    Attached Files:

  7. Dark Ronin

    Dark Ronin GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Country:
    Russia
    Seems your cable could be culprit here.
     
  8. r240p4

    OP r240p4 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    You think so? I was hoping maybe it was a setting on the tv, but I just cant figure it out. I'll see if I can find another device to try it on the tv..
     
  9. Shady Guy Jose

    Shady Guy Jose GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    Portugal
    I read up on your TV's specs, and it seems you have a rare device on your hands. It indeed supports component input without supporting progressive scan, apparently, making component cables useful only to improve picture quality by separating the RGB or YPbPr channels (instead of sending a composite video signal over a single lead). This means you're most likely out of luck with the PSP, as most models (I believe there was one exception, but it's been over a decade, so I can't pinpoint it) only support game output in progressive scan mode.
     
    Last edited by Shady Guy Jose, Aug 2, 2020
  10. Dark Ronin

    Dark Ronin GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Country:
    Russia
    No you're wrong, PS1 games perfectly supports interlace.
     
  11. JFizDaWiz

    JFizDaWiz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    a lot of early-mid 2000 SDTVs included component and only did 480i. Where have you been?

    not rare at all. like the complete opposite of rare.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    are the TV speakers enabled in the settings?
     
  12. Shady Guy Jose

    Shady Guy Jose GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    Portugal
    Europe. I read up a bit more on it, and apparently those were commonplace in the US, but they didn't exist at all in Europe. Since SDTVs over here had to include RGB SCART by law, component inputs for 576i50/480i60 were deemed redundant. They only started appearing in PAL TV sets when HD became a thing, since we didn't even get anything remotely similar to your EDTV standard with any sort of widespread availability.

    EDIT: We did get component outputs in many region-free household DVD players, and I remember many people being absolutely puzzled by those until HDTVs started gaining a foothold later on.
     
    Last edited by Shady Guy Jose, Aug 3, 2020
  13. r240p4

    OP r240p4 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    see that's the thing: that audio is not working no matter what. In fact, yesterday I tried the composite input with my dreamcast and the same happened, video is fine but no sound. So it's definitely the TV. I just hope I can fix the audio from the service menu. Regular menu on TV has everything ok related to audio, I put stereo on and all that, but still no sound. I'm actually in the service menu right now trying to figure out if there is something I need to change on the audio part.
    And also, I tested the psp go on my monitor with a retrotink 2x since the monitor didn't have component, and it worked fine, video and audio.
     
  14. JFizDaWiz

    JFizDaWiz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    well good news at least if you can't fix it on the TV itself
    you could always get a cheap reciever and 2 speakers. they don't have to be anything special as nearly any speaker you pick up will be at worst....as good as your TV typically.

    then you can run all your audio through there.
     
  15. r240p4

    OP r240p4 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    yes, thats true. I actually want the tv for other consoles, and I was just testing it with the psp go... so I was uncertain which one was not working properly. I thought it was the psp.

    Thanks everyone for your comments!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - sound,