1. hippy dave

    OP hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,633
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's the installer not the NSPs that are the problem.
     
    tiliarou likes this.
  2. NeoSlyde

    NeoSlyde Let us start the game
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,896
    Country:
    France
    Then explain to me why it get corrupt with normal nsps and not with bbb nsps?
    Are you implying I’m lying ?
     
  3. hippy dave

    OP hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,633
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok that's a new one on me, tho I didn't think it corrupted every time anyway, so it's interesting if this is actually a factor and not just random chance.
     
  4. NeoSlyde

    NeoSlyde Let us start the game
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,896
    Country:
    France
    Also even tho it shows corrupt they works perfectly fine.
    I think it’s just some md5 mismatch or smtg minor like this.
    No need to worry.
     
    comput3rus3r likes this.
  5. Mr. Wizard

    Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,814
    Country:
    Canada
    You seem confused.
     
    tiliarou and TotalJustice like this.
  6. PatrickD85

    PatrickD85 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    640
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Have not had any issues with this, must note I only did a few NSPs as of now.
    Testing 7 later on. If I run into any issues I will report but if it was SX OS's installer ... aka basically tinfoil.... then we would have heared more about that I am guessing ;)
     
  7. key1340

    key1340 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United States
    It's not just a SX OS problem i installed five games with tinfoil. Three show as corrupt and two fine. I have completed all three of the corrupt games with zero problems.
     
    Mambitos likes this.
  8. Reecey

    Reecey Mario 64 (favorite game of all time)
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5,604
    Country:
    BBB mentioned in the dumps the cdnsp downloads were not correct that’s because they are missing some files that are not important/necessary to the install so when the switch does a corruption check it finds the missing files are not there so it flags up as a corruption but the game/install itself is fine and should work perfect. Maybe your flashback error might of been a one off or something I wouldn’t worry.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2018
  9. hippy dave

    OP hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,633
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm pretty sure it's been shown that the extra files BBB put in their NSPs are not actually installed to the Switch, so that can't be a factor.
     
    tiliarou likes this.
  10. Thetoto

    Thetoto GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    France
    My Zelda title was corrupted some days ago, maybe it's this.
     
  11. Bocchuoi

    Bocchuoi Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Singapore
    Wait what happens if i redownload the game after finding out it's corrupted?
    I installed couple nsp games using tinfoil and every single one is corrupted. I decided to redownload them. Now my switch is occasionally freezing and gives 2144 0001 error code while playing. I wonder if this is the cause?
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2018
  12. Brandon Golway

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, just what I figured earlier, just a MD5 mismatch.
     
  13. Unleanone999

    Unleanone999 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2018
    Messages:
    845
    Country:
    Togo
    2144 0001 error can also happen with xci games and even just playing homebrew so I doubt it's caused by a broken nsp game.
     
  14. Scitzo

    Scitzo Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    The "corruption" is probably merely some misaligned encryption or hash check that the firmware doesn't understand.

    I have 30+ nsp's installed on my switch -all using sx os-, and I've fully -completed- several of those games.

    Zero adverse effect whatsoever, and no games have had any issues at all. Just because the system "thinks" something is wrong doesnt mean there is. We are doing things that the system never intended to happen or much less have an understanding of using tools that arent written by nintendo, things can happen in these scenarios.
     
    Monkiky likes this.
  15. Kupie

    Kupie GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    United States
    The 20+ games I've installed and played must be corrupt, then!

    lol gbatemp users
     
    DarthDub likes this.
  16. tubebar

    tubebar GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    United States
    To be sure it is best to verify the NSPs were not corrupt to begin with (or you get a false positive). We know CDNSP/Dodge have packed corrupted NSPs. Not saying this is the issue just be sure to run the verify tool on NSPs before installing. idk maybe corrupt NSPs can't be installed anyway? I never tried to install a corrupt one.

    EDIT: Oh sounds like it is an SX OS bug: https://team-xecuter.com/forums/threads/154708-SxOS-installer-bug-located
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2018
  17. Mr. Wizard

    Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,814
    Country:
    Canada
    Do you even read?
     
  18. tubebar

    tubebar GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    United States
    And your point is what?
     
  19. ValenValentine

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    So far I tested for corruption. It is in fact present with SX OS installs, so thank you for pointing this out.

    We need more data before people say things like "but it works fine" and this "shouldn't be a PSA". I'll update any games that don't work due to corruption...that said, so far it does seem an md5 mismatch or something unimportant...SO FAR. Please post if it effects your game, and in what way. I may have to start using dev menu if it starts sounding bad out there :/
     
  20. Reecey

    Reecey Mario 64 (favorite game of all time)
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5,604
    Country:
    I agree there is a slight bug in tx’s installer but nothing that is effecting the title from working properly, the TX installer is picking up a mismatch that the Devmenu installer isn’t but nothing worth worrying about to the end user. If your picky and want a clean checked “corruption” free install then use the devmenu, if your not concerned keep using the TX installer it won’t hurt. Gaming bugs could be just down to having corruption in grabbing the nsp off cdnsp, if it’s not a clean download from cdn to install it can have issues.
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2018
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - installer, installed, corrupt