1. Reaga

    Reaga GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,121
    Country:
    United States
    Just checked, it already is FAT32
     
  2. failzers

    failzers GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    that's why i said REformat.
     
  3. Reaga

    Reaga GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,121
    Country:
    United States
    I guess so, hold on. Playing Stick of Truth on PS4, gotta save.
     
  4. GarnetSunset

    GarnetSunset GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    United States
    esc0rtd3w likes this.
  5. kingtut

    kingtut GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1,067
    Country:
    United States
    GarnetSunset likes this.
  6. GarnetSunset

    GarnetSunset GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    United States
    Y E E T
     
  7. kingtut

    kingtut GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1,067
    Country:
    United States
    I do not know what I am doing wrong, but I keep getting a "triggering exploit failed" whenever I try to write to nor flash memory, what am I doing wrong? I was told to just keep on trying it over and over again
     
    GarnetSunset likes this.
  8. GarnetSunset

    GarnetSunset GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    United States
    What's your PS3, and whats the number on the back?
     
  9. kingtut

    kingtut GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1,067
    Country:
    United States
    never mind it worked for some reason, It worked like 50 times later lol.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    does anyone know why the instructions recommend Ferrox? when this video recommends rebug:

     
    esc0rtd3w and GarnetSunset like this.
  10. GarnetSunset

    GarnetSunset GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    United States
    Cool!
     
  11. kingtut

    kingtut GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1,067
    Country:
    United States
    which cfw did you install?
     
  12. Deleted User

    OP Deleted User Newbie

    Ferrox is recommended for beginners

    You can find it on my site
     
    GarnetSunset likes this.
  13. kingtut

    kingtut GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1,067
    Country:
    United States
    does ferrox have ps2 support for ps3 slim? When I researched online I got the impression that ferrox doesn't support cobra which is supposedly needed for running ps2 games on ps3 slim. I could be wrong though as I can't find much info online
     
  14. Kekkon

    Kekkon GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    I've been following the guide and had to reinitiate the exploit a couple times to try to get passed the 'corrupt' message when installing the CFW update file, last time I did it got stuck after saying SUCCESS, the guide said to turn off the ps3 if it didn't continue so I did and now it won't turn back on, if I press the power button once it shows a red light, and twice it turns on then immediately shuts off.
    I think I borked my ps3, any help guys?
    I can't seem to get safe mode working either :\
     
  15. TheCyberQuake

    TheCyberQuake Certified Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,011
    Country:
    United States
    Well I originally installed ferrox, then installed rebug. All without any issues or "corrupt data" errors.
    That video is 2 years old. Do you actually think it's still relevant?
     
  16. ma16v3

    ma16v3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    I have to be looking at something wrong. Here is all the pertinent information on my PS3

    Variant: PS3 Slim
    Model #: CECH-2501-A
    MinFWVer: 3.40

    The above information makes my model a NOR model, and the version that comes up is 3.40, which means my model ought to be compatible. The USB drive has been reformatted, I tried both local and remote hosted exploit sites. All that happens is the PS3 freezes a few seconds after I get the success message. No HDD activity on the unit based on the LED on the front. It doesn't even seem to be referencing the USB drive as that, too, has an activity light. I cannot imagine that it is supposed to freeze up.
     
  17. TheCyberQuake

    TheCyberQuake Certified Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,011
    Country:
    United States
    It does freeze up while it does it's thing. If it is frozen for more than 5 minutes, it means it failed. The "success" message only means the exploit was successful, which then goes into the process of running the code that does it's magic to allow CFW installation on newer firmware.
     
  18. kingtut

    kingtut GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1,067
    Country:
    United States
    is there something that I need to be aware of to play my games online or to prevent myself from getting banned? I am not planning to pirate anyway, I am mainly interested in emulating my ps2 and psp library so that I can record them for youtube.
     
  19. Reaga

    Reaga GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,121
    Country:
    United States
    How do I enter Recovery Mode without messing up?
     
  20. Reaga

    Reaga GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,121
    Country:
    United States
    Well damn. Recovery mode is out, all I have are DS4 and an offbrand PS3 controller.
     
  21. Shadowfied

    Shadowfied GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2,385
    Country:
    Why do you need the recovery menu? Did you semi-brick?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Ps3Xploit, Software, Released