ps3 slim shutting off two seconds after i turn it on

Discussion in 'PS3 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by GRUMPYx87, Aug 20, 2012.

  1. GRUMPYx87
    OP

    Newcomer GRUMPYx87 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Huntington Park, CA
    Country:
    United States
    was playing COD: MW3 yesterday, and all of a sudden the game froozed, i press the power botton to turn it off, so i was like thinking ''meh'' no big deal, i turn on the ps3 and less than two seconds it turns off with the red light flashing.. heres a video i recorded in the topic description, has anyone had this problem???
     
  2. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,432
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    maybe a hardware problem, due to overheating.
    I don't know how to fix that, someone else might help.
     
  3. fgghjjkll

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,038
    Country:
    Australia
    Sounds like a YLOD.
    Is it still under warranty? Send it to Sony for a replacement.
    If it's not, find the dusty heatgun and a youtube vid ;)
     
  4. godreborn

    Member godreborn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Country:
    United States
    based on that vid, it is ylod. send it to sony if still under warranty; if not, u'll need to reflow the motherboard.
     
  5. GRUMPYx87
    OP

    Newcomer GRUMPYx87 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Huntington Park, CA
    Country:
    United States
    yup it seems it was the ylod, lol i thiught the slims werent suppose to get the ylol no more?? oh by the way i did the reflow method but.. i couldnt bring my ps3 slim back to live
     
  6. GameWinner

    Member GameWinner Take your heart

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,190
    Country:
    United States
    It's a long shot but is your hard drive in properly?
    I heard in some cases where the PS3 won't turn on if the HD isn't in properly.
     

Share This Page