1. Cart00nHead

    OP Cart00nHead Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    having recently added pkgj and adrenaline to the ps vita i am looking for a similar solution for one of the ps3 slims we have but have a few questions regarding how to go about it.

    as i understand using a long lasting psn account is not a good idea due to bans so will use another account
    the models we have are the following (if i miss any useful information please let me know) i have consulted the wiki and disregarded one model (or maybe all 3 would be viable for a soft mod)

    i'm not really bothered about going full custom fw route and do like the idea of using my main account on the system now and again but this is not a requirement.

    i am looking for the ability to run ps1 ps2 ps3 games and ideally be able to acquire them from the console in a similar way the vita pkgj works. and possibly add an external hdd for back ups,

    i have a 32gb usb drive to get started, or is there a browser exploit without using the usb?
    can i still update the stock fw once this is done? would the system remain stock and allow me to just run hen after stock fw update? as this is the type of method i would prefer.

    ps3 slim
    this is the model i am wanting to softmod due to the larger hdd its 3003a (1B) currently on fw 4.83 should i update to 4.86 first?

    ps3 slim
    3003a (1C) i have disregarded this due to the wiki and date code

    ps3 slim
    2503a (OC) currently on fw 4.86 the wiki chart seems to make this the ideal candidate tho other research points to it been quite hit and miss for full cf.and is currently my main ps3


    my main questions are
    is there a bowser exploit
    is there a pkgj equivalent
    is it safe to update.
    where should i start?

    thankyou
     
  2. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    13,000
    Country:
    United States
    any system can use hen regardless of model or firmware (though hen is only available on the latest few firmwares I believe). I think there's a pkgi on the ps3, but I've never used it. nps is what I use, but that's not on the console. it's safe to update, yes. psx place is the place for hen information. that's probably where you should start.
     
  3. Cart00nHead

    OP Cart00nHead Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    much thanks, forgot to ask if i add HEN to the system will it keep all existing data/games/saves on there?

    do you know, can i update to 3.86 and go straight to the browser exploit?
     
  4. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    13,000
    Country:
    United States
    yes, everything will remain intact. I think you mean 4.86, but yes. you have to install hfw (hybrid firmware) first. it's recommended to install twice in a row, so that both ROS banks contain the same firmware. I think the 2503a can have cfw on it due to datecode a. I have one of the 2500 models. make sure to check if it's cfw compatible first. some people have frankensteins when it comes to their system's hardware, so even if the sku is right, you want to make absolutely sure. afaik, it's very unlikely to brick as I think a warning will be displayed now if you try installing cfw on a noncompatible unit. I'd strongly recommend cfw over hen.
     
  5. Cart00nHead

    OP Cart00nHead Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry yes i mean 4.86,
    as for the 2503a i decided to just leave if for now as HEN will suit my needs if its fine on the 3003a (1B) along side nps that will be fine,

    one last thing can i copy isos from external to the main hdd once its up and running?

    ill go back to the 2503a in future and maybe go full cfw after various checks.
     
  6. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    13,000
    Country:
    United States
    yes, in fact ps2 isos can only be played from the internal drive anyway.
     
  7. Cart00nHead

    OP Cart00nHead Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks for your help, one final thought should i delete my main psn account then from the system first before i go ahead and have the new one set up first ;)
     
  8. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    13,000
    Country:
    United States
    no need to delete your main account, just sign in with a fake account to get your act.dat. all games will be playable by either account, you just want to risk the account you don't care about by signing into psn and activating it.
     
  9. Cart00nHead

    OP Cart00nHead Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks ill give it a go, i'm going to be cheeky and ask for link or should i just follow the mr mario guide ;)

    oh also once its done can i use any fat32 usb drive and chop and change for the isos or will i t need to be the one i'm about to use
     
  10. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    13,000
    Country:
    United States
    I don't go to psx place anymore, so I can't provide a link, but mr. mario's guides are usually considered good. I've also not done hen myself, since I'm on cfw and I've always been on cfw.

    fat32, yes, but you can use an ntfs hdd as well or if you're wanting the games to be on the internal hdd, just use a direct connection from your pc to the ps3 via ethernet. it will probably be the fastest way possible. if you have a gigabit connection on the pc, you could get like 30MB/s transfer rate. it really is the fastest way.
     
  11. Cart00nHead

    OP Cart00nHead Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    multiple usb drives can be used then a assume just one at a time
     
  12. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    13,000
    Country:
    United States
    yes, but I don't know what the max is if there even is one. I've had two externals plugged in before.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I think you can even partition larger drives. it might be like the 360 where two is the max. I know it's like that with a jtag/rgh despite the phat 360s having three usb ports. only two of them will be read at one time when it comes to hard drives. however, you're able to use a 2TB internal hdd unlike the ps3.
     
  13. Cart00nHead

    OP Cart00nHead Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yea i just mean i guess you can have more than 1 and swap them over
     
  14. Aew4life

    Aew4life Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    I made a ntsf 4tb partition as mbr ps3 reads isos fine use minitool partition manager
     
  15. Cart00nHead

    OP Cart00nHead Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    EDIT i have managed to set up the nps options on the pc.
    iv not have much luck setting up pkgj or a working direct downloader on the ps3 console.

    just trying to get a game to run now.
     
    Last edited by Cart00nHead, Oct 21, 2020
  16. Aew4life

    Aew4life Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    Google how to get pkgi.txt there is a foreign youtube video with a tool that makes the text file use place in the user directory of the ps3 hdd cant help you more than that I believe that linking or sharing that txt is against tos as it contains piracy related stuff hope you can fill in the blanks good luck
     
  17. Cart00nHead

    OP Cart00nHead Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have got some ps2 games working now with nps,
    im just trying to get it to let me install to an extenal hdd.

    i have a formatted a small 120gb sata to ntfs but the ps3 doesn't seem to see it yet.

    the package installer worked fine for a ps2 game, is it going to be possible to use an external drive to play games from? or can this not be done with HEN?
     
    Last edited by Cart00nHead, Oct 21, 2020
  18. Cart00nHead

    OP Cart00nHead Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just bumping this thread now as what I'm trying to figure out is how to get the ps3 to read the external Hdd when in mbr ntfs, the only way I can see some of the contents on the external so far is by using the showtime/movian media player it shows as ntfs0

    I'm hoping when I have time to look later there is a Copy or move option in there for the package's as ftp is way too slow for stuff over 4gb

    Is it possible to play games from the external using HEN? or is full custom fw needed?
     
  19. Aew4life

    Aew4life Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    On ps3 hen ps2 games must be on internal hdd
     
  20. Cart00nHead

    OP Cart00nHead Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's fine i don't mind that but some files I need to move over are large and I need a way for it to recognise my ntfs hdd

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Ps1 and Ps3 games should run from external drive then yes?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, games,