PS3 Kmeaw 3.55 / Bypass Update 3.70 3D Bluray Question

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Kurisuellegarden, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. I just got Smurfs 3D and Glee Concert 3D for Christmas and both want me to update to 3.70 firmware. Is there a way to avoid this so I can get my stereoscopic fix? :\ 3.55 does support 3D content so the update is just a forced update...

    Thanks! Any help is appreciated!
     
  2. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    There are PS3 firmware present on Bluray movies discs? (maybe they are published by Sony)


    1. The easiest way would be to fake the version checking by using the Firmware spoofer from Rebug Team. The PS3 will think that you are already in 4.x and won't ask you to update.

    2. Another solution is to dump the disc t the internal HDD and play the movie using multiMAN's disc mounting feature.
    Though, you need to decrypt the dump on your computer (disc > dump HDD > move to PC > decrypt > move to PS3 HDD > multiMAN > mount folder as Bluray > XMB > Movie > Play)

    I don't think of any another methods right now, but maybe other users could help too.
     
  3. Yeah, I was thinking spoofing would be my option. I'll give that a try first and see. I was sooo surprised to find the PS3 firmware already on The Smurfs bluray. On the Glee one, it didn't contain the update but required it so I think Sony is putting their firmware on movies produced by them.
     
  4. chartube12

    Member chartube12 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,725
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure it's not asking you to update the blu-ray software?
     
  5. lint2

    Newcomer lint2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Brazil
    Sony packs ps3 firmware updates with the 3D version of Smurfs, that is known for sure (I've got it)
    It's firmware 3.70 and requires you to update before launching the video

    I've spoofed my version to 4.00 and therefore was able to start the video, after that there's some software loading before the disc menu (a Smurf house image fulfilling indicates the load), after it loads it says that you have to have the latest firmware to be able to play the content.

    So, if you spoof the version you're able to load the disk, but software on the disk won't get fooled by Rebug's spoof. My PS3 is not enabled to access internet, so there is some sort of check against that too.

    I've played 3D content on it before.

    I haved tried the multiman's disc-mount feature, but to be honest, I've converted bd disk format to avchd as multiman said me to do and was still unable to play it over xmb (also recommended by multiman), weird things...
     
  6. codezer0

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    4.00 cfw, where are youuu??
     
  7. ravihpa

    Member ravihpa GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Country:
    India
    So the current verdict is it's still not possible ?
     
  8. ilman

    Member ilman Gbatemp's Official Noise Eraser

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Shibuya
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    NOPE! the current verdict is that you can spoof it.
     
  9. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Judging from lint2 post, you can spoof it, but not for all titles.
    Smurf seems to require an additional software and is missing something which is only available on 3.70? maybe some dependencies?


    But I find it very strange that it requires a software, as only the PS3 can be updated.
    If the buyer is using his simple home Bluray reader, I doubt it would require an update and would accept to install a random software from a random movie disc instead of the official Brand's firmware.
     
  10. dyvurcz

    Newcomer dyvurcz Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone figure this out yet? I'm still having a issue playing this.
     
  11. Well Smurfs was released by Sony so it carried their newest firmware in it, so I could upgrade the console which is maybe why it was that way.
     

Share This Page