PS3 Controller Fimware for PC

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by ninten__dude, Jun 24, 2008.

Jun 24, 2008
  1. ninten__dude
    OP

    Newcomer ninten__dude Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Here, Raleigh, NC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I just got a Madcatz PS3 controller (wireless w/o rumble) and was wondering if I can use it on my computer. Because that's why I bought it (i don't have a ps3). TIA.
     
  2. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
  3. Doomsday Forte

    Member Doomsday Forte GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    United States
    Not a very smart move, usually you find out if something works before you buy it. =P That said, you will likely need some way for your computer to interact with your controller, like a module or your computer's native wireless thing being tweaked, if it even has it.

    And even then, that doesn't guarantee that it'll work, since someone has to either make a program/drivers or something else and you'll have to wait.

    Edit: Looks like I'm wrong, interesting...
     
  4. ninten__dude
    OP

    Newcomer ninten__dude Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Here, Raleigh, NC, USA
    Country:
    United States
     
  5. ninten__dude
    OP

    Newcomer ninten__dude Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Here, Raleigh, NC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    ...umm one of the files in the archive is corrupted. anywhere else I can get it?

    Edit: i got it to work. thanks
     
  6. lmao2k

    Newcomer lmao2k Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I've hosted it for you here
     
  7. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't know ^ that is the one I used, but manually back up the driver if you can.

    When I was using the SIXAXIS supporting driver, I had problem using "safely remove hardware" thing. And my external HDD was set up to use cache so it was vital.
     
  8. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    I have a ps3 controller question, too. If I buy a mini-usb headset will it work if i plug it into the sixaxis' mini usb port?
     
  9. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    D-pad on a 360 is ****ing horrible. Since he's playing Emus the PS3's D-pad is the best choice.
     
  10. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    I heard newer 360 controllers have the d-pad fixed. I haven't seen one myself, but that's what I heard.

    I'd give Dead Rising 10/10 if and only if I have a 360 controller with perfectly working d-pad.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  11. Devante

    Member Devante Crescent fresh at best.

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Country:
    United States
    Wow...

    does this mean the end to those PS2-to-PC adapters I've been using??
     

Share This Page