[PS3] Battlefield Bad Company 2 Update = 2gb, ETA = 2000 MIN!!

Discussion in 'PS3 - Games & Content' started by idulkoan, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. idulkoan
    OP

    Banned idulkoan Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Dixon, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Hey temp. I bought battlefield bad company 2 and a new ps3 (check signature) and started the game. A message popped up asking me to update in order to play online. Without the update, i kant play online. I clicked update, and realized that the download is 2 gbs in size. I thought ' thisl take a while', and watched the ETA. The ETA tho said this: Time remaining: 1200 MIN. Later, it went to 2000, then 1000. How can I get this thing downloaded without leaving my PS3 on for 1-2k mins? This is not a problem with my internet, because i did a speedtest and got about 300-400 kbps (supposed to be 5-6, but it slowed down 4 sum reason). Any1 getting the same problem?
     
  2. Dangy

    Member Dangy Twisting Your Mind & Smashing Your Dreams

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,391
    Country:
    United States
    Uh... get faster internet?
     
  3. idulkoan
    OP

    Banned idulkoan Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Dixon, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Umm if u read my first post, i have a max of 6mbps. my internet is not the problem here
     
  4. ibrawl

    Member ibrawl Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    chicago
    Country:
    United States
    what i do is just do the update when your about to go to sleep then you.. wake up in the morning feeling like p diddy or battlefield bad company 2
     
  5. idulkoan
    OP

    Banned idulkoan Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Dixon, CA
    Country:
    United States
    But 1000 mins is almost a day!! let alone 2000.


    p.s. im not sleeping tonight lol
     
  6. Dangy

    Member Dangy Twisting Your Mind & Smashing Your Dreams

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,391
    Country:
    United States
    "i did a speedtest and got about 300-400 kbps"

    Your internet is the problem.
     
  7. idulkoan
    OP

    Banned idulkoan Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Dixon, CA
    Country:
    United States
    sorry i forgot to put 'got 300-400 kbps while downlaoding on the ps3 (while the ps3 is using bandwidth trying to update)
    And even if 400 kbps was my max, i still shuldnt hav this problem... does it have to do with sony + tsunami = servers slow?
     
  8. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    no it's not the servers , it's probably just you .
    if you don't feel like updating now and waiting ,
    than do it tomorrow , or over night .
     
  9. soliunasm

    Member soliunasm GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    315
    Country:
    United States
    No, it's not. I have a max of 300 KB/s and I downloaded the update on my PC AND 360 in roughly four or five hours each.
    Hell, Sony servers aren't that great, I tried updating to 3.60 via the PS3 by downloading the update through it and it took over four hours to get past 30%. I had to actually manually go to their website and download the thing, and it was going at a MAX of 20 KB/s, no one was even in my house nor was anyone else connected to my internet, AND the thing was connected via Ethernet.
    The Multiplayer servers are fine, it's just that the download servers seem like a mess.

    Edit: Just a quick note, the 3.60 file was like 170 MB.
     
  10. idulkoan
    OP

    Banned idulkoan Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Dixon, CA
    Country:
    United States
    No its not my internet, and i can prove that. I got it working with this guide:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    I downloaded the PKG file with jdownloader, and now im downloading the patch on my ps3 getting the files from my pc. it used to say thousands of hours, and now its looking at about 30-50 mins.

    Thats the patch im downloading, now successfully [​IMG]
     

Share This Page