[PS3] - Anyone NOT able to connect to their router?

Discussion in 'PS3 - Games & Content' started by dlf, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. dlf
    OP

    Member dlf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    For the last few days (2 or 3 ish) I have NOT been able to connect to my router, it can never the IP address REGARDLESS of weather I'm using 'alternate" DNS (which did work for a while).

    Though I am useing a torrent (utorrent) to download some Brittish show, that shouldn't really affect that much, even when it's not running I can't get an IP address, I'm sure my Wii can still use netflix though, as well are the/machines here.
     
  2. DarkMario616

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    uTorrent will be the problem. When using uTorrent it kills your connection on PSN.

    I've tested it myself.

    Well you said you tried it when it was closed...are you sure it wasn' trunning?
     
  3. dlf
    OP

    Member dlf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    It's not running now and i(t) still can't get (an)/the IP address.
     
  4. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Close the process through Task Manager. If that doesn't help, shut off your computer.

    If THAT doesn't help, reboot your router.
     
  5. ChaosBoi

    Member ChaosBoi Ushiromiya Battler

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,327
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    uTorrent doesn't necessarily kill your connection. It just makes your connection slow as hell when it's downloading something. You can try to limit your upload speed on it to about 20kb or so, since this is how I usually solve my slow connection issues with it.
     
  6. dlf
    OP

    Member dlf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    Even though it's off, it should be able to get an IP address, regardless of the settings (I've tried a few DNS, and automatic) and it wont ever get the IP.
     
  7. tbgtbg

    Member tbgtbg Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    United States
    You could try manually entering a static IP address in the PS3's network settings.
     

Share This Page