PS3 3D video output turns up in 3.20 debug firmware

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Vidboy10, Feb 15, 2010.

  1. Vidboy10
    OP

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    [​IMG]
    Source
     


  2. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    still need a 3D capable HDTV
     
  3. BlackDave

    Member BlackDave Official GBATemp "Cleanup Guy"

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    The Promised Land...
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah the 3D capable TV is a slowdown but ps3 working into being 3D is not bad!
     
  4. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    It only does everything.
     
  5. ojsinnerz.

    Member ojsinnerz. Damned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    But play video games!
     
  6. blackdragonbaham

    Member blackdragonbaham GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    670
    Location:
    hyper dystopian dimension
    Country:
    Germany
    and i asked myself how james cameron will port 3d avatar on the homescreen ..
    problem solved [​IMG]
     
  7. blitzer320

    Member blitzer320 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    somewhere I heard that as long as your tv outputs 120hz that it is 3d ready and all you need is the glasses is this true
     
  8. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    PS3 has no gaem
     
  9. zuron7

    Member zuron7 RBYG

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,369
    Location:
    GPS not available in this area
    Country:
    India
    Why 3D is going to suck?
    Which guy is going to wear a pair of glasses to watch everyday TV.
    I'm going to stick to normal TV no matter what.
    It'll be much better to have it on the PC though..
     
  10. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,670
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    They try to make it do everything because it's not good at anything [​IMG]
     
  11. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    ps3 just needs the tech, it has a lot of potential...
    i bet xbox may be thinking of doing so too
     
  12. Issac

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    It's a different technique sadly [​IMG] A 100Hz tv would even be sufficient (for 50hz display which isn't too bad).
    In school we have this (older?) technique where all you need is 100 hz and shutter glasses that blocks out each eye at the right time... works really good!
    oh, and also some sync device. pretty much like the guitar hero dongles for example. so the glasses know when it should block which eye. really easy tech and wouldn't need people to buy new tv's.. but that's why that tech isn't used... they wanna sell new tv's!

    The 3d tv's that is used now are polarized or something, where you bend and block the lightwaves instead... => needing a new tv...
     
  13. Hero-Link

    Member Hero-Link Hero of Derrr

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,185
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    3D? that is so last gen... didnt sony said the PS3 would do 4D?

    i'm still waiting for 4D!
     
  14. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I dunno, at the CDC (I think) there were still 3D systems being shown with the shutter glasses, on SOny TVs no less (if I remember right)
    But remember, polarising glasses are cheaper than Shutter and don't need batteries making the polarising ones the better choice in the long run
     
  15. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The PS3 does 4D. But us humans can't see it.
     
  16. Issac

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    I really think that it should be made an option... for those who just bought a really expensive tv... doing 100 hz... [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  17. NoSmokingBandit

    Member NoSmokingBandit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    United States
    the whole 3d trend needs to die. Its going to be more of a pain than its worth, imo.
     
  18. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Where's my breakfast, PS3?
     
  19. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Due to a malfunction in the system's "do everything" panel, it had to throw away the cooked duck it made you.

    Sad, eh?
     
  20. killakk

    Newcomer killakk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    Did 3d work?
     

Share This Page