1. ThaKarra

    OP ThaKarra Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Australia
    About 2 years ago I brought a GameStar IDE HDD adapter for my PS2. I installed a 160gb HDD and it was working completely fine. I used an OLD PC that still had IDE connectors and WinHIIP to load the HDD with a bunch of games and used OPL to boot them. (You could always tell the HDD was working with the PS2 because you could see a yellow light indicator through the vents of the console). Everything was working fine, absolutely no issues.

    Fast forward to last week and I decided that I wanted to install some new games on the HDD. But I now no longer had the OLD PC with the IDE connectors. So I went on Amazon and purchased one of those IDE/USB dongles. I took the HDD out of my PS2 and plugged it into the USB dongle but I stupidly plugged the power connected of the dongle into the HDD the wrong way around and it completely blew the HDD. It would no longer read attached to the PC via dongle and I tried plugging it back into the PS2, but nothing. You could physically hear the HDD failing to spin up.

    I didn't think it would be a problem because I have another 3 IDE HDDs laying around the house. I whip out a Samsung 250GB IDE HDD and plug it into the dongle (This time I make sure I plug the power connector in the CORRECT way). I format the HDD using WinHIIP, take it out the dongle and put it into the PS2... Nothing... The PS2 is not even detecting it. There is no yellow light indicator visible through the console vents, just nothing. So I tried a second Western Digital IDE HDD, same thing.. PS2 was NOT detecting ANYTHING. I even tried to use UELF so I could try formatting via the HDDFORMAT tool, but that idea failed because the PS2 wasn't detecting anything plugged in. So I tried the third Seagate IDE HDD. This one was only 40gb but I thought it was worth a try just to test it. This time I plugged it into the PS2 and the yellow light came on BUT it wasn't flickering to indicate it was reading the HDD. It was just a solid yellow light. Still though, the PS2 would not detect any HDD connected. --

    I remembered that there was an 80GB IDE HDD inside my old original Xbox. So I unscrewed my Xbox, took out the HDD and plugged it into the PS2, just to try it. Still the same thing.. No yellow light indicator and PS2 detecting no HDD.

    At this point I'm completely lost. So I decided to order a SATA adapter for my PS2 and ditch the idea of IDE. The SATA adapter arrived today. I hooked up a 300gb Hitachi HDD to the PS2, same thing. No yellow light, PS2 not detecting it.

    LASTLY. I think it's worth mentioning that whenever I have a HDD plugged into my PS2 and turn it on, the PS2 boot screen takes FOREVER to load. - Like, you know the screen that says "Sony Computer Entertainment" and it has the cubes and space look? That screen completely hangs. I recorded a video so you can see what I mean. - https://streamable.com/i9e3i5 - Take the HDD out and the PS2 boots at normal pace.

    ADDITIONAL NOTES...

    I just want to point out that every HDD I tested in the PS2 works perfectly on my PC. I can format it, install games via WinHIIP.. No problems.

    It might also be worth mentioning that my PS2 has a Matrix Infinity Modchip installed. Not that I think that's the cause of the issue.

    Please help! I am completely out of ideas. Something that has been working perfectly for 2-years and now nothing. It can't be a coincidence that all 5 HDDs I tested in the PS2 have compatibility issues.
     
  2. slaphappygamer

    slaphappygamer GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,048
    Country:
    United States
    It’s got to be something simple. The HDD must be set to “master” when in the ps2 and “slave” for pc connection.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  3. ThaKarra

    OP ThaKarra Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Australia
    I've tried playing with the jumper switch. Doesn't make a difference
     
    slaphappygamer likes this.
  4. kaputnik

    kaputnik GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    Sounds very strange. Just double checking, you never connected the original drive to the PS2 after it blew, right?

    Would start by making sure that the connectors are ok and makes proper contact. Common problem with that kind of China stuff, build quality and fit isn't always the best.

    Regarding jumpers, some drives got separate "master" and "single drive" settings. When the drive is alone on an IDE channel with no slave drive present, like in the PS2, you're supposed to use the latter.

    Edit: you might want to try the "cable select" (CS) setting too, if you haven't already.
     
    Last edited by kaputnik, Sep 26, 2020
  5. ThaKarra

    OP ThaKarra Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah I stupidly did. I wanted to make sure the HDD was definitely stuffed. I didn't think a faulty HDD would cause any damage to the console. I thought at worst it just wouldn't detect anything. -- Looks like this mistake might be the issue.

    I've tried literally every combination of jumpers (with and without) on the back of the HDDs. There was a SATA drive I tried that didn't even have a jumper switch. It made no difference. -- Like I said above.. I think I've damaged the PS2 by testing the busted HDD.
     
    Last edited by ThaKarra, Sep 26, 2020
  6. zfreeman

    zfreeman GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    United States
    Last edited by zfreeman, Sep 26, 2020
  7. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo watching Thames TV from London
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7,260
    Country:
    Italy
    Was it one, after all?
    Among the 3rd party "network" adapters (most of them without network, in fact) there are way too many internal designs of varying compatibility with various drivers, so I only recommend the original (especially an imported American one with 56k modem, of which there are no known fakes and is usually still cheaper after shipping than an European one!!)

    And yep, I would suspect a fuse problem, especially if you ever attached or removed an expansion bay accessory without turning off the mechanical power switch!
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  8. ThaKarra

    OP ThaKarra Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Australia
    I totally get this. I fully understand that 3rd party network adapters aren't as good as the original. I only went for this option because living in Australia the real ones are hard to find (even online) and people ask for stupid money. I guess the frustrating part is that even though it wasn't a genuine network adapter, it worked perfectly fine for 2-years.

    Oh I can't say I've ever done this before haha
     
  9. kaputnik

    kaputnik GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    Right, that's probably where it went wrong then :)

    See zfreeman's post. To take a number out of thin air, 99% chance that's why your new HDD won't initialize. Those fuses probably need replacement. Not as sure of the fuse PCB designations as zfreeman, might differ between models, but there's plenty of info on it online. Yours are not the first HDD feed fuses to blow. Suggest you read up some on the matter, to identify the fuses, and decide what you want to do about it :)
     
    Last edited by kaputnik, Sep 26, 2020
    ThaKarra likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - EVERYTHING, internal, anymore