ps2 opl will not make the +opl partition?

ulao

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
169
Trophies
0
XP
643
Country
United States
I have a 1tb drive formatted with the latest HDD manager and opl sees the drive but when I exit out and go back to the HDD manager, I see no +opl partition, just the 5 main ones. How can I get opl to make it so I can transfer files to it with pfsshell ?

Can I use Hdd Manager to create it somehow and than resize to max size?

Or maybe with pfsshell, I have that connected to my HDD at the moment, can I create the partitions with it?
 
Last edited by ulao,

Snomannen_kalle

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2018
Messages
342
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
1,721
Country
Norway
I have a 1tb drive formatted with the latest HDD manager and opl sees the drive but when I exit out and go back to the HDD manager, I see no +opl partition, just the 5 main ones. How can I get opl to make it so I can transfer files to it with pfsshell ?

Can I use Hdd Manager to create it somehow and than resize to max size?

Or maybe with pfsshell, I have that connected to my HDD at the moment, can I create the partitions with it?
I'm not sure whether you can create partitions with pfsshell or not, but you certainly can mount any partition on the drive by following the guide in the Readme on GitHub.

If for some reason you want the +OPL partition, you can make it manually with wLaunchElf (although it does seem like it should be created automatically according to the GitHub Readme unless you're specifying it in a config file)
 

ulao

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
169
Trophies
0
XP
643
Country
United States
I'm not sure whether you can create partitions with pfsshell or not, but you certainly can mount any partition on the drive by following the guide in the Readme on GitHub.

If for some reason you want the +OPL partition, you can make it manually with wLaunchElf (although it does seem like it should be created automatically according to the GitHub Readme unless you're specifying it in a config file)
I was under the impression it had to be there, The only partitinos I see are system , ones, and I tihnk putting iso's on them would be bad and or not fit.
 

ulao

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
169
Trophies
0
XP
643
Country
United States
I was under the impression it had to be there, The only partitinos I see are system , ones, and I tihnk putting iso's on them would be bad and or not fit.
well, I made it using HDD manager. Created +OPL and moved the slider all the way right. is said creating, took over a minute, then said reading "+OPL", after 5 minutes I gave up, and powered off. Now all programs that use the HDD have this same wait. Seems the PS2 does not lock up but its such a long wait. IS this normal for 2tb drives (no files)?
 
Last edited by ulao,

Snomannen_kalle

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2018
Messages
342
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
1,721
Country
Norway
I was under the impression it had to be there, The only partitinos I see are system , ones, and I tihnk putting iso's on them would be bad and or not fit.
Games installed to the HDD area installed to separate partitions on the drive. It's been some time since I've played around with the PS2 though, so it is possible my info is outdated

well, I made it using HDD manager. Created +OPL and moved the slider all the way right. is said creating, took over a minute, then said reading "+OPL", after 5 minutes I gave up, and powered off. Now all programs that use the HDD have this same wait. Seems the PS2 does not lock up but its such a long wait. IS this normal for 2tb drives (no files)?
I only have a 450GB drive in my PS2 and thus it doesn't take as long as this, but I think this is normal
 

ulao

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
169
Trophies
0
XP
643
Country
United States
Yeah so the creation of the partition went south, I had a hard time getting windows to fix the drive but I did get it. I was about to do it all over then I found this app winhip? Looks like it sets it all up from windows. Says it may have issues with opl but anything beats that hdd manager, that thing just destroys drives. One day I may get this to work.
 

Snomannen_kalle

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2018
Messages
342
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
1,721
Country
Norway
Yeah so the creation of the partition went south, I had a hard time getting windows to fix the drive but I did get it. I was about to do it all over then I found this app winhip? Looks like it sets it all up from windows. Says it may have issues with opl but anything beats that hdd manager, that thing just destroys drives. One day I may get this to work.
WinHIIP should do the work, but it's an old and outdated program and you may face issues with a 2TB drive. rs1n made a tool to streamline the process of installing games and setting up OPL with art etc., I'd recommend you check that out instead
 

ulao

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
169
Trophies
0
XP
643
Country
United States
WinHIIP should do the work, but it's an old and outdated program and you may face issues with a 2TB drive. rs1n made a tool to streamline the process of installing games and setting up OPL with art etc., I'd recommend you check that out instead

I will give that one ago.
 
Last edited by ulao,
  • Like
Reactions: Snomannen_kalle
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Bout to get me a new washer and dryer if my bank approves my loan