PS2 Chipping

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by TLSpartan, Oct 12, 2007.

Oct 12, 2007

PS2 Chipping by TLSpartan at 1:56 PM (814 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    I am chipping a Slimline PS2 tommorow(I am alos picking up a Modbo tommorow as well to chip it). I have a couple questions about it though.

    1. Does it work on the slimline?

    2. If so, can someone direct me to an installation diagram

    Thanks for any help you give me
     
  2. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What version PStwo do you have?
     
  3. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    slimline
     
  4. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A PStwo is a slimline. In this PStwo family there are several hardware revisions v12 onwards I think.
     
  5. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    I can't find a guide for PS2 Slimline Model Numbers. I can find them for the fatty PS2's though [​IMG]
     
  6. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Sorry for the double post. But I found out what model I have. Its version 14. I also found the installation diagram on the Modbo site. I am going to have fun soldering 21 wires [​IMG]
     
  7. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That I'm not suprised, slimlines do need 21 wires in soldering. AFAIK all PS2 models require a high number of wires soldering.
     
  8. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Got some questions though. On the Modbo page it said I should use flux and use thicker wire for 3.3V and some other connections. Should I do both of these(Would using normal hookup wire suffice for power or would it burn out the wire?). My soldering iron is more then good enough for the job(Goot 13 Watt with a 0.2MM tip). I have smaller sized solder then the one they recommend (0.71 over 1 MM) which I know is better.
     

Share This Page