PS2 Backups running on PS3 via HDD (USBADVANCE)

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by DbGt, Jan 21, 2009.

Jan 21, 2009
  1. DbGt
    OP

    Member DbGt GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Mexico
    Download link in source

    Anyone with a JAP ps3???

    SOURCE: PS2 Backups Running on PS3
     
  2. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Wow, that's really cool! Now if only they can figure out how to load PS3 .isos...
     
  3. GameDragon

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    That's pretty sweet. Let's see how long it will take for US PS3s.
     
  4. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That's great! So this won't require any modchip? I'm in!

    I've been looking to buy a PS3 for some time now, but I want to play PS1 and PS2 games too. I could emulate PS1 backups in Linux, and I hope this is the solution for PS2 games. Or will this require an old PS3 which could already run PS2 games?
     
  5. Sharpz

    Member Sharpz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    L.A California
    Country:
    United States
    More of a reason to save up for a PS3. [​IMG]
     
  6. DbGt
    OP

    Member DbGt GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Mexico
    But you cant use it on 40 gb, newer 80 gb or 160 gb ps3 because they dont support ps2 format... and this "hack" needs swap magic, and thats a ps2 format disc.... So it works only for 60 gb, 20 gb and 80 gb(the old ones with backward compatibility) ps3´s
     
  7. ChaosBoi

    Member ChaosBoi Ushiromiya Battler

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,327
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, and it would've been even better if it could load PS3 isos instead of just PS2. I already have ESR for my PS2 to load burned games without a hassle so I wouldn't need this (I have a 40gb model anyway so I won't even be able to play PS2 games on it).
     
  8. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ummm that may not be true as a few reports have come out saying that sony have been playing with software emulation of ps2 games on all ps3 systems. (rumor has it that sony want to release some ps2 games on the psn)
     
  9. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    well doesnt anyone find it odd that they had software emulation but removed it?
    it shouldnt cost anything to include it on newer PS3's also
    there was probably a few other pieces that werent removed (besides the emotion engine CPU) when they could still play ps2 games

    it would be great if they could just release a firmware update and now all PS3 that couldnt play PS2 games now can (via software emulation) [​IMG]
    but I doubt it...
     
  10. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i read somewhere on the net that sony removed ps2 capatibitly for two reasons, cost make the system cheaper and people where buying and playing more ps2 than ps3.
    i dont think that sony will ever release a firmware update to play ps2 games, instead i imagin that they will just sell them on the psn
     

Share This Page