1. Evilkoko

    OP Evilkoko GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    United States
    Is there anyway to play PS2 backups on a PS3? I will be purchasing the 80gb MGS4 PS3 combo when it's released but I don't see any other games I'd like to play with the ps3. I see a bunch of RPGs i've missed out on from PS2 and would really like to play them without purchasing a ps2 as well.

    Thanks! [​IMG]
     
  2. Bob Evil

    Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Country:
    Nope ... originals only ...
     
  3. xalphax

    xalphax Internet killed the Ponystar.
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,294
    Country:
    Croatia
  4. Evilkoko

    OP Evilkoko GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    United States
    hmm thanks xalphx will check it out and put my soldering skills to the test if i'm brave enough that is [​IMG]
     
  5. ZeWarrior

    ZeWarrior TheWarrior
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Wrong.
    As Xalphax posted, there is a way and it involves soldering and opening up the PS3.
     
  6. Bob Evil

    Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Country:
    duh! Yeah, I saw ...
     
  7. Scoobos

    Scoobos Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    3400+ posts, 3330 of them useless.

    as well as this mod - if you have a 60gb original UK PS3 (or a NTSC model 60gb) , there is work in progress on using the SD slot for something nice (PS2 wise anyway).
     
  8. deathfisaro

    deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Canada
    I heard about it, but I thought "Are PS2 backups worth voiding PS3 warranty?"
    I concluded no; I'd just buy a PS2 to play PS2 backups because upscaling PS2 games = soso.
     
  9. Mr. Noid

    Mr. Noid Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    Wrong! as you saw, and Xalphax posted, and Zewarrior told, there is a way and it involves soldering and opening up the PS3. But it voids your warranty! Duh!
     
  10. Bob Evil

    Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Country:
    I meant, "Duh!" as in "How could I have missed that?", not "Duh!" as in any kind of insult, you clown.
     
  11. Mr. Noid

    Mr. Noid Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I know. I just didn't understand why Zewarrior posted that, so I aped his style. I'm pretty sure "clown" is an insult though. [​IMG]
     
  12. Bob Evil

    Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Country:
    No ... clown just means like "silly" ... it's not a proper insult lol
     
  13. Evilkoko

    OP Evilkoko GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    United States
    Yea I was thinking the same. Guess i'll have to look for a cheap ps2 slim [​IMG]
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Backups,