Hacking Homebrew PS1 emulation on PSP

PimpinBudha

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Hi, I'm new to PSP emulation and plan on getting a PSP. I have a few questions that I hope can be answered. In advance those who do answer, thank you very much.

1. What is the best custom firmware to use? I've heard Dark Alex's firmware and then I hear Devhook can be used.

2. Can I rollback or recover my PSP to the original firmware once I install the custom firmware?

3. Is there a compatibility list of the PS1 games that can run?

4. Can I use a PS1 ISO file I made?

5. How are all the buttons mapped? (L2 R2 etc.)

Again thanks in advance to anyone who answers my questions.

thegame07

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
1. dark alex firmware is the best
2.yes you can go back to 1.5
3.most ps1 games run i have never found on ethat cant and i have tried loads.
4.yes you can use your own ps1 isos. however you need the game code (SLUS-xxxx)You also need to convert them using popstation.
5.i havent played my psp in a while so i cant remember how you work l2 and r2. i think you use the analog button. left on the analog button = l2 right on the analog button=r2 i think.
unsure.gif

PimpinBudha

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
But I heard to use Popstation you have to have Hot Shot Golf 2 or something like that to work. Is that true? And have you ever tried Final Fantasy 8 on the PSP? Cause that's the only game I really want to play.

OG LOCC NESS

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
You had to have Hot Shot Golf 2 a long time ago. And you can play FF8. Just go to sites that has PSP ISOs and they should have a section specifically for FF8.

PimpinBudha

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
I have FF8 myself. So Popstation doesn't need Hot Shot Golf 2? That's great. How would I be able to find the game code for the certain game I want?

spas

Trophies
XP
Country