1. sephir

    OP sephir Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    New Caledonia
    Hello guys,
    First post here so : "hello world" ! :-)

    I'm here in search of some help regarding a problem with my newly acquired second hand vita fat (4 years old apparently).

    Here it is :
    -3.63 native os with a sony 4gb memory card
    -manage to update to 3.65 manually (it was just a f*cked up mess to deal with that in the first place and required a lot of research).
    -Connected to PSN ('ive read it was required and anyway the content manager was bitching without that). => did some research to manage to pull that off too.. sigh..
    -Installed QCMA on mac.
    -Installed Henkaku and enso and vitashell and adrenaline and retroarch etc etc etc ... Very straight cause good tuts.
    -Spoofed the CFW to 3.69 on henkaku settings. (might be one of the "futur" problem ?)
    *******
    All went well but i had at some point an error displaying "GPU driver error ..." which, i've read might be due to the fact that on UX0 and UT0 the same tai folder could be the cause of some strange behavior due to double loading. They say to get rid of the UT0:/tai.
    So i edited the config.txt to point everything (also with NONPDRM plugin) towards UX0 partition.
    ************
    All went well *again* (sigh). Played some games, some retroarch goodies also etc... (never restarted from that point)

    Left it on the table yesterday, but today i had to cold boot it (i thought it was just sleeping but apparently, and for the first time, it went off by itself whereas the battery was full..).

    Problem :

    On the restart : ENSO logo.
    Then
    BAM ! => "system needs updating". tap ok. then "memory card needs formatting" ... WTF?

    You have no choice except to tap "ok". But it doesn't format it, you have to do it manually anyway.

    -On the main screen all the bubbles installed (not the stock ones) are gone (henkaku, adrenaline, vitashell and so on).
    Worst: HENKAKU setting in the main settings menu is gone too and system information is displaying :"3.65" and not "3.65%%*garbage kanji"

    -Memory card (official 4go sony) is not recognize anymore :It says when you go to content manager "no memory card inserted"... WT.DOUBLE.F ?

    I've tried so far to boot it in safe mode then rebuild the database to no avail.
    It's like the memory card has gone haywire all of a sudden ?

    Some thread said that you have to "unbind the memory card in HENKAKU" for whatever reason. Can't do that cause i don't have the henkaku settings anymore. Period.

    Someone can take a little bit of his/her time to explain to me what is happening *again* and what to do remedy this situation please ? And if a mistake was made, explain to me what was it so i won't do it twice... cause it's kind of time consuming this little things after all.

    Thanks a lot guys

    ps: just in case someone mention this : i've tried to search by myself, like "for-the-past-8-hours-straight-by-myself". And most of the cases are with the SD2VItA which i don't have and don't care. It's an official memory card that i have. The sony 4gb one. I'm getting to the point where this piece of shit is going to meet one of my favorite friend => the wall on my right side. So please do something ^^"
     
    Last edited by sephir, Dec 24, 2018
  2. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    630
    Country:
    United States



    Hello the same thing happened to me before and i was able to fix it using a second modded vita or you can use a second memory card. If you don't have a second modded vita or a second memory card, you will have to format your memory card, this is the reason why i always back up my vita every few days. What happened is when you enabled the spoof the vita memory card was linked to what it thought was 3.69 so it will no longer work on any firmware lower than 3.69
    I recommend you get a second vita or second memory card to have as a back up for these situations, that way you will always be able to fix any problems.
     
    Last edited by kaymynd, Dec 24, 2018
    sephir likes this.
  3. sephir

    OP sephir Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    New Caledonia
    OK.
    The memory card not recognized is, IMHO, indeed due to fact that the a spoof at 3.69 was made (what is strange though is henkaku disappeared from settings which, i thought, would nullify these spoofing?)
    Whereas the complete mess of my henkaku installation would be put to the account of the folder transfer : everything that was inside UT0:tai/ was copied to ux0:tai/ and UT0:tai/ was left empty.... as per some indications found on the web that both folder with same plugins would cause the dreaded "GPU error"...

    So, if i understand well, to "recover" my vita the was, i have to access UT0:tai/ and put back what was inside previously (?).

    To do that i would need another memory card and perform the henkaku (not enso) hack again on that new card. Right ?
    And how do you back up your vita by the way ?
     
    Last edited by sephir, Dec 24, 2018
  4. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    630
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it is due to the spoof, and ux0 is the memory card storage you need to be putting the plugins in ur0 folder so that it stays on internal storage if you put it in ux0 that explains why henkaku will not load because it cannot read the ux0 storage from the memory card due to the lower firmware. The only fix is reinstalling henkaku enso with a second memory card and then switching back to your first memory card, or using a second vita to unlink the first memory card. Otherwise all you can do is format your memory card and start all over.
     
    sephir likes this.
  5. sephir

    OP sephir Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    New Caledonia
    gotcha. I'll try to grab a used memory card if i can and i keep you posted.
    ps: when you re -install henkaku on the new one, you reinstall vitashell and everything too ? Except Enso of course ?
     
    kaymynd likes this.
  6. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    630
    Country:
    United States
    Yea it's probably your best bet to fixing this, and i believe if you use the final h-encore installer it will install both h-encore and vitashell and from there you can install enso and just make sure you put plugins and config.txt in ur0/tai not ux0/tai then you can just turn off your vita, pop in your first memory card, and when you turn your vita back on it should read the memory card just fine.

    You will need enso installed on new memory card to regain access to first memory card after you can uninstall enso if you wish.

    To back up your vita you just connect to pc via usb on vitashell and just copy all the folders over onto my pc. Make sure you have show hidden files and folders enabled on your pc.
     
    Last edited by kaymynd, Dec 25, 2018
  7. sephir

    OP sephir Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    New Caledonia
    OK so i have to reinstall enso on the new card also ? I thought enso was already installed on the console own memory since i still have the molecule logo on start (despite the fact that the henkaku settings disappeared of course).
    I'm not used to Final Hencore installer, Do you have a tutorial in mind where you could point me to ?
     
  8. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    630
    Country:
    United States
    Yes you need to reinstall enso on the new card in order to get the henkaku plugins back into ur0/tai folder so the henkaku settings will appear even if you have no memory card in the vita. The reason the henkaku settings are not showing up is because the henkaku plugins are missing from your vita internal storage because you placed them in uxo which is memory card storage. Once you put your first memory card back in delete the ux0/tai folder and put all plugins in ur0/tai folder only from now on, this will result in plugins loading even without a memory card. As a failsafe i have also moved vitashell into internal memory so it will work without memory card as well and i will be able to fix anything that goes wrong in the future. I used the app manager plus app to move vitashell.

    Heres an easy video guide on how to install h-encore using final h-encore


     
  9. Tri-Z

    Tri-Z Tri z
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    615
    Country:
    United States
    I think you just need to re enable enso. I forget the steps exactly. Maybe pressing square when go to install it again. It’s still technically installed it’s just not fully activated.
    As for setting up tai folder. Make sure ur0 like above user said as that is internal memory where ux0 is the memorycard
     
    kaymynd and sephir like this.
  10. sephir

    OP sephir Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    New Caledonia
    ok everything is noted. Thanks for your input !
    I also wish to follow the advice to put vitashell in the internal memory too. How did you did that again ? Is it complicated ?
     
  11. Tri-Z

    Tri-Z Tri z
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    615
    Country:
    United States
    There’s an app that can change unused app to it. Vhbl has the app if u have that just browse through the apps
     
  12. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    630
    Country:
    United States
    sephir likes this.
  13. sephir

    OP sephir Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    New Caledonia
    hm ok i'll try to find that app. Let's find a memory card first then 'ill be on my way for moving vitashell.
     
  14. sephir

    OP sephir Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    New Caledonia
    thanks for the link ;)
    I'll try that once i can get my hand on another memory card (better safe than sorry) :'(
     
    kaymynd likes this.
  15. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    630
    Country:
    United States
    Sure no problem, and definitely lol after many mistakes and having to format and start all over again many times, I've learned to always have a back up in case anything goes wrong. Best of luck! If you need anymore help don't hesitate to ask :D
     
    sephir likes this.
  16. sephir

    OP sephir Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    New Caledonia
    thanks Kaymynd ! I surely take your word for it cause i guess i'll have some other questions ! ahahah ;) thanks again. Once i get another memory card i'll keep you posted.
    Tri-Z thanks for your input too mate. by the way 'ive read that installing enso over an already installed one (one 3.65 that is) could cause problem if it hasn't been properly uninstalled first.. is it right ?
     
    Last edited by sephir, Dec 25, 2018
    kaymynd and Tri-Z like this.
  17. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    630
    Country:
    United States
    For sure no problem, and it may cause issues, I'm honestly not sure, i would do as Tri-Z suggested a few posts back and just re enable enso, just in case it does cause issues. Also I just remembered about the card unlock app made specifically to get mem cards working on lower firmwares, not sure if it still works above 3.60 though. I will test on my 3.65 vita when i get home on wednesday and update you. This will make getting access to your mem card way easier if it works. You need only install h-encore, move the card unlock app to internal storage with previous app i mentioned, turn off vita, remove mem card and turn on vita without mem card, run card unlock app, and insert the locked mem card while card unlock app is running and bam you have access to your mem card again.
    Soon as i test if the app still works above 3.60 I'll let you know.

    Here's the link btw in case you wanted more info on the card unlock app.

    https://github.com/cnsldv/CardUnlock/blob/master/README.md
     
    sephir likes this.
  18. sephir

    OP sephir Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    New Caledonia
    ok it's noted.
    I'll wait for your return for the update on this. I'll be quite interested to know how it works indeed.
     
    kaymynd likes this.
  19. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    630
    Country:
    United States
    Finally got around to testing and i can confirm card unlock is working on 3.65 enso, i was able to unlock 2 different mem card successfully.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - recognizing, henkaku,