PS Emulation

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by jakeruston, Aug 11, 2007.

Aug 11, 2007

PS Emulation by jakeruston at 6:27 PM (2,071 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. jakeruston
    OP

    Member jakeruston GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Is it possible for PlayStation 1 games to be emulated to the NDS? Theres no point in asking about the PlayStation 2, as we all know the answer to that (Especially PlayStation 3). I was just wondering, its not as powerful as the N64 I don't think, so its questionable (I think).

    Thanks,
    Jake.
     
  2. Zalda

    Member Zalda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    Denmark
    No, and it will never happen.
     
  3. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    No. The DS is about on-par with the PS1 as far as graphics, so emulating the PS1 would be impossible.....way too much overhead for the DS weak CPU. The DS just doesn't have enough horsepower to run PS1 games in emulation. But I'm sure many, if not all, PS1 games could be ported (porting is different than emulating) to the DS fairly well in all but streaming content such as music. Look at Resident Evil DS, it's a perfect port of the PS1 game, plus bonus DS content.

    Long story short, it's possible to port PS1 games, impossible to straight-up emulate them on the DS.
     
  4. jakeruston
    OP

    Member jakeruston GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay, I'm guessing Porting a game is something that I couldn't do?
     
  5. onewing

    Newcomer onewing Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    Commercial ports of games that appeared on the PSX will come across from time to time, but they will be essentially completely re-written for the DS platform. Also, you wont see N64 emulation either, just ports of n64 games (mario 64 DS).
     
  6. jakeruston
    OP

    Member jakeruston GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay thanks.

    Its just a shame, some games I wanted to play.
     
  7. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Actually there are PS1 ports that perform better on DS such as Front Mission 1st. But as far as emulation goes, your best bet would be PSP. Maybe next gen non-Sony handheld will have buffed spec enough to emulate PS1.

    I have to say Nintendo is being smarter than Sony. No N64 emulation, but N64 ports games on DS for $30+. PSP has PS1 emulation, which can be purchased on PSN via PS3 for ~$5.
    Guess who's making more money.
     
  8. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Porting is extremely hard since the last PS1 games I'm positive are at least 500MB + and a DS cart can only fit like 128 mb or 256mb so I doubt porting is that easy. and PS1 Graphics are slightly better than DS graphics IMO
     
  9. squeakypants

    Newcomer squeakypants Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Well I couldn't find the PS GPU's specs, but the CPU is 33mhz. The Nintendo DS has 2 CPUs (also used as GPU): 66mhz and 33mhz. The PS has 2mb RAM, 1mb VRAM. The DS has 4mb shared memory.

    So, the DS is actually more powerful than the PS (though not even close enough for emulation). However, you also need to take into account that the DS renders 2 screens, totaling 98304 noninterlaced pixels. The PS renders from 57344 to 307200 interlaced pixels. So really they could be considered the same when it comes to graphical capability.

    Many of those PS games (like the FF titles) use prerendered sprites, which take up a lot of storage. The biggest NDS games so far are 128mb, though theoretically they could be as big as 4gb (flash memory right now), though that'd be ridiculously expensive since that memory itself goes for at least $40-$50.
     
  10. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    It could happen though. Textures don't have to be remarkably high-resolution to look decent on the relatively small DS screen, so that saves space. Audio could be compressed to save space as well. The main killer would then be full motion video. Not sure how they'd work around that.

    In addition, there doesn't appear to be a set "limit" for the amount of space a game can take up. We've only seen up to 128 MB at the moment because it's cheaper to make games that use less space.
     
  11. squeakypants

    Newcomer squeakypants Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Emulation can't happen. Ports can though.
     
  12. AMPonzi

    Member AMPonzi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    The Lost City of Atlantis
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty much the only reliable emulation you'll get on the NDS is systems from the SNES/Genesis era and earlier. And even then, SNES and Genesis are having a difficult time performing as well as say, an NES emulator in terms of compatibility and speed.
     
  13. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
  14. VVoltz

    Member VVoltz The Pirate Lord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,727
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    Bolivia
    Get a PSP. [​IMG]
     
  15. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Hm, interesting link there Chuckstudios. I'm guessing it's just a demo and only runs that one program, right? I renamed a commercial PSX .bin file to MAIN.EXE and edited the first few bytes to say "PS-X EXE", which didn't work (went to SLL loop after a few seconds), though I highly doubted it would work in the first place anyway.

    EDIT: Doing a bit more research, I see that the PS-X EXE header in general is used to designate homebrew files. That makes more sense. I got the one from http://psxdev.dragut.net/newbie_intro.html to boot at least, even if it doesn't do anything other than loop endlessly.
     
  16. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States

    no the ps1 has better graphics
     
  17. suprneb

    Member suprneb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    United States
    what about a ps2?

    lol jk
     
  18. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Slightly. about 256KM more VRAM, but the DS has 2MB more of general purpose RAM, and a 66MHZ ARM proccy which the PS doesn't... And it has to output in a higher resolution (640x480 vs 384x256 for the ds)
     
  19. iTech

    Member iTech GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    United States
    Hey hey! WTF? That shit is mine. I wrote it. I linked to it in the testing area once, you could look at my post history to find the thread, it was about me being an idiot (which I am). It was total crap, a pre-pre alpha of the interpretation engine. You should see the shit now, and unless I get banned or killed by junkies, you will soon enough.

    [EDIT: Just realised Chuckstudios linked to that post. I thought the file was on the GBATemp servers when I saw the URL, hosted in the download section, but, why would it be?]
     

Share This Page