ROM Hack Professor Layton and the Unwound/Lost Future UNDUB Patch (kind of...)

rodryguezzz

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Portugal
I started playing the first Professor Layton game a couple of days ago and it has been quite funny. I'm playing the undub version so I decided to download all the NDS undub roms. I found the first and the second games but not the third one. I've searched everywhere but it's impossible to find an undub patch or already patched rom of this game. The only couple of links I found were already dead but, after seeing many posts of people saying how easy it is to undub roms, I tried myself. I've never modified a rom before (except applying patches) so this is all new for me.

Creating this patch is a puzzle
I grabbed an american (U) rom and then replaced the files in data\lt3\str\ by those in the japanese rom at \lt3\str\.
At first it seemed like everything worked perfectly but then I noticed some random english spoken phrases in the middle of the conversations. I opened the patched rom and the japanese rom and played both at the same time side by side using desmume and noticed that the english phrases in the patched rom exist because they simply aren't present in the japanese version. For example, while one character says one complete phrase in the japanese version, the same dialogue is split into two phrases in the english version (you see the first phrase and then have to click A to advance the dialogue and see the second one). My extremely limited japanese knowledge tells me that this happens because they didn't literally translate the dialogues and actually added some phrases in the western version.