Professor Layton and the Diabolical Box Undub--help?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by HumbertHumbert, Sep 17, 2009.

1. HumbertHumbert
    OP

Newcomer HumbertHumbert Member

United States
    Hi all--I'm just getting started on my first undub attempt, Professor Layton and the Diabolical Box.

Basically, I just replaced all of the contents of the ENG "data\data_lt2\stream\event", "\data\data_lt2\stream\movie" and "\data\data_lt2\stream\[files only]" with the JAP version, and got OK results. The movie and non-movie dialogue became maybe 85% undubbed.

Stuff that became Japanese:
    • All (?) of the movie dialog
    • Most of the in-game dialog
    • The "Puzzle Complete" statements by Layton and Luke. (note that these don't have subtitles like other in-game dialog)
    Stuff that remained English:
    • Random sentences in the in-game (non-movie) voice. (I noticed during the first 10 minutes of the game: (1) Dr. Hershel reading his letter: "What's more, I believe I'm on the cusp of unraveling a great mystery tied to this box. [break] (2) For the moment, let's just say I have a theory...", and (3) Chelmey at the scene of the crime: "What in the blazes!? That's my face, not some piece of taffy!" and a bunch of others)
    I was wondering if anyone had any advice on figuring out how to fix those random sentences, since I'm basically just randomly copying over files that look potentially important right now. I haven't found a good undub guide and the only tool I currently have is DSBuff. It works great for unpacking/packing, but if there are any tools that allow you to preview in some way the custom-format DS files, that would make the whole process lots easier.