Homebrew RELEASE ProdInfoEnabler - Enable and disable the writing of your ProdInfo from your switch.

darkxex

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2016
Messages
152
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Santiago
XP
877
Country
Chile
Updated for 9.1.0
------------
Hello friends, I bring you this application that is used to enable and disable the writing of the prodinfo, with a single button.
This is for Atmosphere CFW.
thanks to Benfah for the sysmodule used.

68694834-aadb9680-0558-11ea-8ecc-d2d173d59801.jpg


Download Here:
https://github.com/darkxex/prodinfoenabler/releases

and remember Blawar is my shepherd; there is nothing I lack.
 
Last edited by darkxex,

JonJaded

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
570
Trophies
0
XP
1,978
Country
United States
Amazing. No need to use kips or sysmodules to do the same thing anymore. This will be much more simpler for people looking at blawars incognito.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Amazing, this will help a lot of people with getting incognito running without using outdated kips.
 

iriez

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2016
Messages
549
Trophies
0
Age
47
Website
www.xbins.org
XP
1,845
Country
United States
Do we know if there are any negative tradeoff's to permanantly disabling prodinfo writing? Going off faulty memory here, but I thought at some point this disabling of writing specific info to prodinfo was implemented in CFWs for a "safer" experience?
 

linuxares

I'm not a generous god!
Global Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
9,866
Trophies
1
XP
12,016
Country
Sweden
Do we know if there are any negative tradeoff's to permanantly disabling prodinfo writing? Going off faulty memory here, but I thought at some point this disabling of writing specific info to prodinfo was implemented in CFWs for a "safer" experience?
It's is semi-safer. It's not as safe but it's better than nothing. If it's just for Incognito it's better just to use Incognito_RCM since it's CFW independent.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,130
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,473
Country
Norway
Do we know if there are any negative tradeoff's to permanantly disabling prodinfo writing? Going off faulty memory here, but I thought at some point this disabling of writing specific info to prodinfo was implemented in CFWs for a "safer" experience?
I think you meant to say permanently enabling.
Yes, there have been cases where malicious homebrew intentionally wiped PRODINFO (as that is the only known type of softbrick that is not recoverable without a backup) and that's why that feature was added to Atmosphere. So if you like installing sketchy nsps you should not have it permanently enabled and there is no reason you would want to either.
 
  • Like
Reactions: iriez

ChaosEternal

Well-Known Member
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 27, 2015
Messages
541
Trophies
1
XP
2,331
Country
United States
I saw that you left debug code in your release. Pretty cool to see in the wild since that stuff usually gets stripped before release. Anyway, this seems like a useful and straightforward utility. Nicely done!
 
  • Like
Reactions: iriez

MADokax

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 30, 2017
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
132
Country
Chile
I dont knwo what ProdInfo does, can someone explain me pleaseee, and should I disable this if I only use checkpoint on sysnand? I run Atmosphere only to inject some saves, then I run OFW and I go online
I have been like this for 4 days, I´m going to be banned!? I´m doing nothing wrong ;; I buy games and everythiing
 

ZachyCatGames

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
3,393
Trophies
1
Location
Hell
XP
3,917
Country
United States
I dont knwo what ProdInfo does, can someone explain me pleaseee, and should I disable this if I only use checkpoint on sysnand? I run Atmosphere only to inject some saves, then I run OFW and I go online
I have been like this for 4 days, I´m going to be banned!? I´m doing nothing wrong ;; I buy games and everythiing
prodinfo (also called cal0) is a big blob that contains a bunch of console unique calibration information and certificates. Allowing writes to it is not a good idea, and the only thing it allows is for brickers to be able to brick your console.
 
Last edited by ZachyCatGames,

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,130
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,473
Country
Norway
prodinfo (also called cal0) is a big blob that contains a bunch of console unique calibration information and certificates. Allowing writes to it is not a good idea, and the only thing it allows is for brickers to be able to brick your console.
And it allows for Incognito to work (but there is a RCM version of that so this is a bit pointless now)
 

Danook28

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
180
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
677
Country
Oman
Any one have prodinfo back after he delete with any program in pc or nintendo switch for help meny people...
 

pcwizard7

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
1,407
Trophies
0
XP
1,657
Country
Australia
I was wondering since incodino leaves the battery serial number in view couldn't Nintendo match the console serial with the battery once u put it back for online

So shouldn't the battery serial be zero out as well?
 
  • Like
Reactions: dcnigma

pcwizard7

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
1,407
Trophies
0
XP
1,657
Country
Australia
Im not understand you sory


The point of zero ur console serial is to make ur switch a unknown switch to protect its ID. But the battery serial can still be view and recorded by Nintendo. So if that switch goes back online with console serial they can group it with battery serial.


As a way to id a hacked switch since a switch with same battery serial number would be the same switch since the battery doesn’t change frequently
 

Danook28

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
180
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
677
Country
Oman
Oky and what can i do now i have meny things help me to fix this broblume you can tell me the steps thanks bro

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

The swich is now open i can teak photo with the thing to see... For help or add whatsapp
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    linuxares @ linuxares: their discord