Processor Vs Graphics Card

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by TheWingless, May 26, 2008.

May 26, 2008

Processor Vs Graphics Card by TheWingless at 5:40 PM (1,155 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. TheWingless
    OP

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    I'm currently working on getting some money over the summer for an upgrade, but I don't really know which one whould be upgraded, the processor or graphics card. I usually only play CoD4 at lowish settings and at 800 X 600 resolution. A few other games will be occasional. I might be getting UT3 also. I've played the demo and it runs 30 FPS exactly in low/medium settings. After blasting and jumping a few times, it doesn't spike/jump around like CoD4. I most likely will need both eventually though. My power supply though... I'm not sure about. I heard it was like 300W but that's kind of low isn't it? It's an eMachines T5226.
    Anyways, here are my specs processor and graphics specs:
    Processor: Pentium D with 2 CPUs at 3.0 Ghz
    Graphics Card: ATI HD 2400 XT
    I'm likely not to get anything till half a year to next year so recommending stuff might not be great as of now. So I do have 1 PCI-E 16X slot and I think it was LGA 775 socket because that's what the Pentium D uses? Thanks.
    Also, another question about VGA to DVI dongles/adapters. Are they compatible with all graphics cards? Mine come with the 2400 and says HD 2000 series, but I don't see why it wouldn't work on other graphics cards. I only have a VGA monitor. Most of the graphics cards I'm seeing have 2 HDMI but come with 1 VGA to DVI I believe. Oops, had HDMI confused with VGA =/
     
  2. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Thats not the only thing thats slowing you down... could also be your motherboard, and potentially your hard drive.

    But games like cod4 dont use much processing power... usually... so I would get a graphics card. Considering you only have a 300W PSU, I think you can only power either a 8600gt or a 8500gt.
     
  3. TheWingless
    OP

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    Oh. Perhaps I should post my motherboard and hard drive too? My computer is only a year old. I'm not actually too sure how to check what hard drive it is but it seems to run pretty well if you asked me. I am actually willing to buy a new PSU though. I don't think I'l need a 900 or 700 Watt one though. Maybe around 500? Keep in mind that I might also play UT 3 and maybe I'll also get SC2 if it works. I might need a new processor then. Over all, I'd probably have to get all 3 done. =/
    Manufacturer: eMachines T5226
    Processor: Intel Pentium D 925 3.0 GHZ w/ 2cpus
    L2 Cache: 4 MB ( 2 x 2 MB )
    Chipset: IntelĀ® 945G Intel Website
    Memory: 2.5 GB One is a 512 that came with it. The other is a 2 GB. They are both the same speed(533 MHz).
    Hard Drive: 250 GB Total - 135 GB (Vista) Hard Drive 1 x 250 GB - Standard - Serial ATA-300 - 7200 rpm
    Video Card: ATI HD2400 XT - Gigabyte
    Sound Card: Integrated SigmaTel High Definition Audio (5.1)
    Operating System: Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit
    Some of it was taken off of these 2 sites: CNet eMachines
    I'll most likely buy either a Processor(Core2Duo?) or a Graphics card with a power supply. I'm pretty sure my other parts are fine. Starcraft 2, UT3, and CoD4 are what I'm planning for. It just needs to be pretty decent. Right not it's just in the lower settings.
     
  4. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    nVidia lately campaigned with some tests that an expensive graphics card is much better than an expensive processor when it comes to games.

    E.g. Q6600 + 8400GS
    performs much worse than
    E4500 + 8800GT

    or something like that.

    Go into device manager (My Computer, Properties, Hardware) and the listed hardware should at least have model numbers.
     
  5. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Its also common sense.
     
  6. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    Good point but by much better they didn't mean just a bit better.

    Anyway, most graphics cards I've seen have 2xDVI or 1xDVI,1xVGA for the cheaper ones.
     
  7. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    He's gonna need to update that PSU if he intends on running a 8600. I had a 350 watt PSU and it wouldn't power my 7600GT. So I got a 500W that did the trick. It's still holding up with the 9600GT I have now.
     
  8. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    Depends on the PSU entirely.

    Some cheap PSUs rated at 600W will struggle to run something a decent branded 400W will.

    Brands which have good PSUs include Corsair, OCZ, PC Power and Cooling, Silverstone, Seasonic, Enermax, Coolermaster, Gigabyte, Thermaltake although some of them aren't great for gamers.
     
  9. TheWingless
    OP

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    Nevermind. I figured out why I was confused.
     
  10. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    If gaming's your thing, then graphics card is what will help you most.

    Although I'm sure Starcraft 2 will run no matter what you have, given Blizzard's reputation.
     
  11. fenthwick

    Member fenthwick GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    Sweden
    Most dual-core CPUs will do for a while. But the GPUs are what need upgrading now a days in games. So get a new GPU but make sure you have a good PSU.
     
  12. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Well i would say go for a 8800GT they are cheap and gives outstanding performance [​IMG]

    I love my 8800GT and my Q6600
     
  13. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    I swear I though I saw Pentium 4, not D. Yeah, its your graphics. Pentium D will be fine for most current gen games.

    But you'll need to upgrade your PSU too.
     

Share This Page