Problems with wiikey on brawl

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by click01, Mar 23, 2008.

Mar 23, 2008

Problems with wiikey on brawl by click01 at 4:03 AM (1,675 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. click01
    OP

    Newcomer click01 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    hi i just downloaded brawl and got the wiikey update 1.9g beta after installing 1.9b. anyway i put the disc in and my wii says "unauthorized device has been detected." i have tried to different downloads of the game. could some1 plz tell me if i am missing somthing or what is going on thanks guys. also my wii is a us model
     
  2. Yoshimato

    Newcomer Yoshimato Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    WHat kind of DVD are you using? You need DVD-R. Otherwise i have no idea.
     
  3. Giga_Gaia

    Member Giga_Gaia Shinigami

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,281
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    He needs a dual layer DVD, not a simple DVD-R. Even if the game can be patched with Trucha signer for a dvd5, I would use that, stuff are probably cut down.
     
  4. click01
    OP

    Newcomer click01 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    i am using RiData -R DL 4X
     
  5. Yoshimato

    Newcomer Yoshimato Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't know, maybe you should use DVD+R?
     
  6. aardvarks

    Member aardvarks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    after doing the 1.9 update you need to do the mario galaxy wiikey update again. this happend to me today after modding an old wii with a wiikey so i know it works!
     
  7. mousan

    Member mousan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Algeria
    I had the same problem with verbatim DVD-RDL but now with traxdata DVD+R DL no problem [​IMG]
     
  8. click01
    OP

    Newcomer click01 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    Still not working... but does the change from DVD DL-R to DVD DL+R really make a difference. I just don't get how that does anything and I don't want to go out and spend more money testing it if I'm not sure it is going to work.
     
  9. Marticuno

    Member Marticuno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    It could make just the difference you want. The Wii is picky on media, and is unique in it's "pickyness" as well. Some Wii's work brilliant with 8x DVD-R while some others don't even read that disc. Bottom line, buy a good DVD DL+R and it might just work.
     
  10. click01
    OP

    Newcomer click01 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    i have tried to use + DVDs before and my wii didnt even read it though. so im still unsure if + DLs are my answer...why cant this be easy lmao
     
  11. Mooshywooshy

    Member Mooshywooshy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    I have Wiikey and get the same Error Message with the DVD DL+R, I had to trucha sign it to get it to pass it, after that its fine. Hopefully the new Wiikey update will make it so we dont have to Trucha it, that way we can update.
     
  12. click01
    OP

    Newcomer click01 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    Trucha what is that and how do i do it??
     

Share This Page