Problems with WD Essentials 750 GB HDD

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Gagarin, May 29, 2010.

May 29, 2010
  1. Gagarin
    OP

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. So recently I upgraded my wii hdd from 350 GB to 750 gb. I picked WD hdd but I can't make it running in my Wii.
    When I plug hdd it creates in windows another virtual drive with tools software.
    I split partitions, but when I try to make it running wii is freezing.
    I format the partitions in wbfs manager, put if I put an iso on it it can not be played on wii.
    I didn't have those problems with older Western digital Hdd.
    What to do?
     
  2. Binxy

    Member Binxy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried different games?
    Did you format the hard drive (WBFS) on your computer or with the usb loader program on your wii? (Try both)
    Try a different loader. Usbloader GX, Hermes U Loader are the main ones I use.

    Sorry not much else to tell you without enough info.
     
  3. Gagarin
    OP

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I tried to format it in wbfs manager, usb loader does not see it at all.
    Starnge.
     
  4. sanghoku

    Member sanghoku GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Belgium
    on wd website you can download a firmware and software update... using this you can disable the built in chip up to some point... i've used this method on several passport drives aswell... also, i'd not recomment using any wd drives at this point since the chip with the firmware etc etc causes so much problems, not only with wii, but also with normal users... i work in an it store, so i know... [​IMG]
     
  5. Gagarin
    OP

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Thnx a lot. Now it works finally. One more time - Thank You.
     

Share This Page