Problems with the DSTT's soft reset

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by Random_user, Jul 7, 2008.

Jul 7, 2008
  1. Random_user
    OP

    Newcomer Random_user Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Australia
    A problem I have with the DSTT'S soft reset(A,B,L,R,X,Y) is that whenever I'm playing I cannot get it to work. Nothing happens. What's causing this to happen?

    Also, I simply turn it off mid-game because the soft-reset doesn't bring me back to the menu. Will this damage the SD card or anything else(such as the dstt cartridge lol) ?
     
  2. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    Did you activate soft-reset in the options?
     
  3. Random_user
    OP

    Newcomer Random_user Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Australia
    I think I did. I went to Sysoption>Default reset and switched it to 'on'.

    Is this correct or am I supposed to turn it on another way?
     
  4. sidneyyoung

    Member sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bermuda
    Check you haven't got a stuck L or R shoulder button.
     
  5. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Turning off a game mid-game shouldn't hurt anything unless it is saving to the microSD card at the time. At most, you'll lose whatever progress you've made in the game. If you turn it off while it's saving, it could corrupt the save file and/or the entire microSD card.

    Some games don't work with soft reset. But you have to have soft reset turned on in two places if I'm not mistaken -- it needs to be turned on globally, and also for the game in question.

    -Bri
     
  6. X D D X

    Member X D D X GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Yeah, it needs to be turned on for the game. You need to select the game then go to Options and there should be a Softreset option, you need to turn it on. You will know when Softreset is on when under the game's name it has a "Red Power Button" icon.
     
  7. Damademan3

    Newcomer Damademan3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Cr, IA
    Country:
    United States
    SYS Option_ Default Reset to ON And then SAVE... The icon then should show up next to every rom on your card. If it does not then i would replace the kernel.
     
  8. Random_user
    OP

    Newcomer Random_user Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Australia
    to all: My soft reset works now, except for a Dragonball Z game(which was the game which I tried soft reset on). Though..that game is boring so I'll delete it. I'll try Bri's advice for switching it on globally as well when I come across this problem again. Thanks guys.
     

Share This Page