Problems with my R4

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Jaxtaylor, May 30, 2007.

May 30, 2007

Problems with my R4 by Jaxtaylor at 2:15 PM (614 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. Jaxtaylor
    OP

    Newcomer Jaxtaylor Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey all,

    Just got my R4 from Dealextreme - arrived in exactly a week - better than I expected! When I'm putting files on the card (2GB) it occasionally corrupts everything, and I have to reformat the card and start again! Any idea what it is I could be doing wrong? Does it actually do any damage by just removing the card from the PC or do I ALWAYS have to stop the hardware first?

    Thanks in advance guys.
     
  2. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    I just remove it without the safety thing. But there's an option somewhere which you have to check for that to be allowed (don't remember where), otherwise you'll have to do the 'stop hardware' thing everytime removing it. Assuming it's that what's causing the problem. You could try reformating it with different cluster access time with fat32 if that doesn't fix it.
     
  3. HBK

    Member HBK Clover - Fearless to Speak Now. ;)

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,813
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    I'll try to help you out.

    Right-click your removable store device (in My Computer), and select Properties.

    Then click the Hardware tab, select your removable storage device, and click Properties once more in that window.

    Go to Policies, and select "Optimize for quick removal" (it should be as default). If not, select it, and press OK in all windows. Disconnect the hardware with Safe Removing it.

    Then try a format (backup first if you have important data) with FAT32 or FAT, 4096 or 8192 cluster allocation.

    Good luck.

    If none of that resolves the issue, post back here and I'll give you another solution.
     
  4. CatScam

    Member CatScam ScamaRama!

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
    If the above doesn’t work the next thing to try is use a different micro SD
    read/ writer. And if the problem still continues it’s most likely your SD card.
     
  5. Jaxtaylor
    OP

    Newcomer Jaxtaylor Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks guys - got to the bottom of it. I was using the reader on my pc, so I switched to the reader that was sent with the card - all sorted.

    Thank you for your help!
     

Share This Page