Problems with hdd-spindown

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by siliconmessiah, Jun 12, 2011.

Jun 12, 2011
  1. siliconmessiah
    OP

    Member siliconmessiah GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah. Here it goes.
    I have a softmodded wii with all the latest cios:s up to date and I use a Samsung G3 HDD 1TB.
    When I play on the emulator for a while and decide to quit or save, the HDD seems to have gone into some kind of "sleep mode". When it decides to spin up to enter the emulator menu, it only results in the HDD keeps on blinking, and the emulator hangs.

    Any tips on how to stop this?
     
  2. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
  3. siliconmessiah
    OP

    Member siliconmessiah GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
  4. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Whoa....the solution in that thread is way too complicated.

    I had a similar problem with my Seagate drive. To fix it, all I did was install the software that came with the drive, went into the settings, and turned the power saving mode off.

    You should be able to do something similar for your Samsung drive.
     
  5. siliconmessiah
    OP

    Member siliconmessiah GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for your input.
    Just found out that there is no software for Samsung G3 Station =/. The auto-power-saving spindown seems to be unavoided. Guess I´ll have to look for an new driver.
    What is your type of Seagate drive?
     
  6. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Seagate Freeagent 512GB
     
  7. siliconmessiah
    OP

    Member siliconmessiah GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I think I found the problem.

    I had not installed cios´s 202, 222 and 223.
    Now when I have done this using modmii, things seem to work fine.
    Could this have been the solution?
     
  8. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    usb loaders only use one cios at a time. There are 2 different flavours of cios.
    Waninkoko cios are usually installed in slot 250, 249, 248, ... and Hermes cios use slot 224, 223, 222, 202, ...
    Most usb loaders start with a cios, but have the option to select another when you load a game.

    The 2 flavours use different usb ehci code.
    So, if your usbloader is using one of the Hermes cios after you installed it, it could be that it solved your issues.
     
  9. siliconmessiah
    OP

    Member siliconmessiah GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I had only installed 249 before and I never had any spin-down problems with usb-loading, as the HDD gets accessed almost all the time.

    The problem that this thread is about, is only in emulators. See the first post.
     

Share This Page