problems with DOP-mii...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by some guy, May 11, 2010.

May 11, 2010

problems with DOP-mii... by some guy at 9:10 PM (4,940 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. some guy
    OP

    Newcomer some guy Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    The guide I've been using:
    http://sites.google.com/site/completesg/hacking-guide/trucha

    The problem I'm having is uninstalling the stub IOSs. when I press minus to uninstall a stub it I get ">>ERROR! failed to get system menu required IOS version. >>ERROR! (-102) unknown error" also the guide says to uninstall IOS202,222,223,249 and 250 but my stubs are IOS4,10,16.40,222,223,249,250 and 254.
     


  2. some guy
    OP

    Newcomer some guy Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Should I just ignore the stubs?
     
  3. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes there is no real need to delete stubs.
     
  4. some guy
    OP

    Newcomer some guy Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Really?
     
  5. apoptygma

    Member apoptygma GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Country:
    Australia
    Sounds like you didn't load dop-mii ios properly, you need to make sure it's loading on IOS36 also you need to make sure that you've properly patched the trucha bug into IOS36.

    Did you downgrade 15, patch 36 then upgrade 15 as the guide said?

    Did you select IOS36 when loading Dop-mii?

    This error almost certainly means that you are trying to use a non-trucha bugged IOS to remove the stubs
     
  6. some guy
    OP

    Newcomer some guy Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    I think I must have skipped downgrade 15. if you haven't already guessed I'm not very tech savvy.
     
  7. some guy
    OP

    Newcomer some guy Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    What version do i downgrade it to?
     
  8. apoptygma

    Member apoptygma GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Country:
    Australia
    If you use 'Trucha Bug Restorer" it should be pretty straight forward, you load it up and follow the prompts to do the up'ing/downing. There's also "Trucha Bug Restorer Mod" which is the same deal made by someone else, either of those should get you where you need to be.
     
  9. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    They prevent you from installing cIOSs, so you do need to remove them.

    Either that, or use TBR 1.12 instead of DOP-Mii to install a patched IOS36 and you can simply install the cIOSs
     
  10. some guy
    OP

    Newcomer some guy Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    I'll still be using DOP-Mii to remove the stubs right? also I need to get rid every stub I have right? does it mater if my stubs are different then the ones on the guide?
     
  11. some guy
    OP

    Newcomer some guy Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    This is what I got when I got the installing IOS36 step

    "net_init failed: -116"
    "error reading IOS to memory"
    "IOS36 installation failed"

    [​IMG]
     
  12. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    sounds like u are trying to do a network install without a wifi connection

    either go to wii's settings and connect to a wireless access point and try again, or set up your sd card with the required files for an offline install (instructions on the complete softmod guide, or u can use nus auto downloader)
     
  13. some guy
    OP

    Newcomer some guy Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure I'm connected, I can get on the shopping channel.
     
  14. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    when your on the homebrew channel wait until the internet box in one of he corners [bottomright] stays solid, then your homebrew apps will have internet connection.

    if anything grab the modify.zip from the modify any wii guide here to do an offline mod
     
  15. some guy
    OP

    Newcomer some guy Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    I really don't want to do that... does anyone else think the problem might be coming from already doing the Installing IOS36 with FakeSign Bug step from the DOP-mii guide?

    I'm starting to get really confused.
     
  16. some guy
    OP

    Newcomer some guy Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    I did the offline mod and I got the same error. should I try TBRmod now?
     
  17. Pyrate02

    Member Pyrate02 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    I am not 100% sure what is going on. But, I can tell you this - I used the online method with DOPIOS and after everything was done, I deleted 249 only and everything worked after that. I deleted 249 using anytitle deleter. I did not bother deleting the other ios files and everything still worked fine. Without deleting 249, I was not able to install Wanin's Rev 17, etc.
     
  18. some guy
    OP

    Newcomer some guy Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Okay I finally got TBR to work. I don't need to fuck with the stubs at all now right?
     
  19. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    no there is no need to delete stubs.
     
  20. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    You HAVE to delete one or more of the cIOS Stubs 202,222,223,249, and 250 if you wish to replace them with full cIOS's.

    These stubs already have the max revision number allocated to them, so any attempt to install custom IOS will fail, until the relevant stub is removed/deleted.

    If you never intend to install custom IOS, then you can leave the stubs as is.
     

Share This Page