Problems with AK RPG And Latest Firware (v 11)

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by DavePS, Sep 4, 2008.

Sep 4, 2008
  1. DavePS
    OP

    Newcomer DavePS Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Having some issues with latest version of AK RPG menu.

    It now has built in support for mp3 & txt files, however if i try to open any txt file it gives file open error and opening mp3's loads up something which is unreadable because the text is all screwy.

    Also when selecting a folder with about 750 mp3's in the AK locks up.

    Anyone else experienced anything like this?
     
  2. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    Just use MoonShell, honestly, it's just waiting for like two seconds.
     
  3. sigh

    Newcomer sigh Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Australia
    Same thing happened to me.

    Switch to moonshell.
     
  4. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    Frankly, these features never should have been implemented. They're beyond the scope of the loading software, which needs to deal solely with the operating tasks of the flash card and doing so in the most optimal and efficient way possible. Everything else is a task better suited to a specific application
     
  5. cory1492

    Member cory1492 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,488
    Location:
    Home, WhereElse?
    Country:
    Canada
    Frankly, Chuckly, or Bobly - if you will - that is why mp3 extension support and similar are crafted into plugins instead of done internally in the loader. Since when is it beyond the scope or province of any file manager (or file loader, if you will) to associate the appropriate program/launcher/player with the file type? It's pretty much what moonshell does, though these plugins haven't been worked on, optimized or around for nearly as long as moonshell was.

    Try bliss' loader or AIO though, perhaps it is just a bug with the official firmware which copies over these features from there.
     
  6. DavePS
    OP

    Newcomer DavePS Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the replies, i'm going to try AKAIO, just presumed that the official one would be the way to go.
    Failing that i'll revert back to moonshell, was only playing with it all anyway.
     
  7. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    On the contrary, AKAIO is essentially the official loader, plus lots of extra features that have been added in. (If you look up about the alternate loader, you can use bugfixes in the official one before AKAIO is revised even [​IMG] )
     
  8. o RedSheLL x

    Member o RedSheLL x GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Houston TX
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, weird, Ive used my f/w for playing music, mine works, and I love how u can do soft reset [​IMG].
     

Share This Page