Problems with 8 gb memory stick

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Gagarin, Mar 4, 2008.

Mar 4, 2008

Problems with 8 gb memory stick by Gagarin at 7:30 PM (1,992 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Gagarin
    OP

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I bought 8 gb Sony memory stick. I formatted it 3 times (twice with psp and one with windows) but still it doesn't work well. I put about 15 isos on it but it shows on my PSP only 3 ond one of them don't work!
    Is it Firmware foult or memory card? Beside PSP it works perfectlly.
    Right now I have 3.80 -m33 and Slim PSP. Maybe should I update to 3.90?
     
  2. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what game didnt work?
    where are the games on your mem card
    what format are they in
     
  3. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you sure its an original memory stick and not a fake one?
    Fake ones have been known to have issues.

    Go to memorystick on your PSP and press triangle.
    If it says magicgate is nor supported then it means its fake and we can't do much to help you.
     
  4. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    try format via your psp and not om the pc, i've read that is supposed to help, and yeah it's possibly a fake memory stick.
     
  5. ryuhosuke

    Newcomer ryuhosuke Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Canada
    it should have no problems.. does it have a sticker on the back? if it does then it is surely a fake
     
  6. silvershadow

    Member silvershadow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Canada

    tru, best way to check if its a fake. to add to this..after u check, and if it turns out to be a fake, then that explains why only some show up, i would have to assume the FIRST THREE that u put on:)
     
  7. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Problem: You copy 8GB of data, and Only ~1-2GB of Data is ever copied.

    Possible Reason: You bought a fake memory card from ebay that has a hacked partitition table to make it look like 8GB, but in reality, it's 2GB.

    Solution: Use mbredit, fdisk and a formatter other than the windows/psp ones (Like mkfs) to convert it to a normal memory stick.

    Aftermath: Enjoy your slow 2GB memory stick.
     
  8. Twiffles

    Member Twiffles танковые победы

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    Germany
    Just in case you didn't know: 3.90M33-2 has fixed the memory stick problems. Seeing as DAX himself wanted to use his 8GB memory stick he added that feature to the firmware update. Everything else either sees a memory stick above 4GB as a 4GB or 2GB.
     
  9. pika3000

    Member pika3000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Magog World Ship
    Country:
    United States
    I know that this sounds like a general solution but for the isos you sohuld make sure that names aren't too long.
     
  10. Gagarin
    OP

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I didn't say it has 2 gb, it seems that PSP has problems with that card. If it's fake - that's fine, my 4 GB is bootleg Magicgate but works perfectly.
    Tomorrow I will update my CF and I will let you know.


    (files on the memory sticks are short named ISOs, I formated it in PSP, memory card seems to be original [I can send pictures], games that work fine on my 4 GB don't work)
     

Share This Page