Problems formatting USB to WBFS on Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by otisthemoon, Jan 7, 2011.

Jan 7, 2011
  1. otisthemoon
    OP

Newcomer otisthemoon Newbie

Canada
    Greetings all,

I'm a newb and I have been working on hacking my new wii (4.3U) for over a week now and I'm so close I can taste it. My issue now is getting my external formatted to WBFS. I only have a Mac (which apparently is an issue when formatting). So I've been trying to format the hard drive on my wii using USB Loader GX. But every time I try I get the message "Exception DSI Occured" and then a bunch of crazy gibberish.

Any tips on formatting my drive, or fixing the issue I have with Loader GX would be greatly appreciated. I'm pulling out my hair over here, and I have so few to spare.

2. C.S.I.

Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

Australia
    Forget WBFS, and format the WHOLE drive FAT32.

I am assuming a MAC can do that of course.

WBFS is simply no longer required.

Then use a Wii Backup Manager to get your games transferred to the HDD, or rip them yourself from the Wii using a USB Loader, or SuperDump or the like.

Get ready to taste again =)

3. Porobu

Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

Spain
    When formatting to FAT32 make sure that partition table is set to MBR not to GPT

4. C.S.I.

Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

Australia
    Easier Option, borrow a mates PC for the 5 mins it takes to format the drive [​IMG]

5. PsyBlade

Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

Germany
    lol

windooze cant format to fat, everyone else can
    not the other way round

6. zizer

Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

it is news ......

7. fiveighteen

Member fiveighteen High Hopes and Low Expectations

United States
    Can USB loaders rip games to a FAT32 partition? AFAIK they can't to NTFS. I've just kept a 4.5GB partition on my hard drive as WBFS to rip games to and then transfer to the NTFS drive with Wii Backup Manager.

8. otisthemoon
    OP

Newcomer otisthemoon Newbie

Canada