Problem with turning on my new computer i just built

Noctosphere

Adoptive father of Zelda
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
5,300
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
In my sister's basement with kitty Zelda
XP
6,297
Country
Canada
Hello
Recently, my 9 years old cpu simply ceased to function.
I had to buy a lot of new stuff in order to change of cpu
I have a new motherboard, new ram, new case and new cpu, the rest is from my old computer
The problem is, when i'm turning it on with the screwdriver method, the psu starts up running, the mb led turns on, and few seconds later, everything shuts down, the gpu fan never starting up.
Someone told me to try to turn it on without the gpu. The result was a bit different, with the system shutting down few seconds earlier than with the gpu plugged in.
Someone also told me to plug the ram stick in the slot 2 and 4 instead of 1 and 2, since i've only two ram stick and 4 ram slot.
I've also been told that maybe the cpu was just not set up properly within the slot, but tbh, i have no idea how to know WHEN it is correctly set up before starting the engine.
If anyone has any idea on what to do, please share
Thanks
 

ZipMartin

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
36
Trophies
0
XP
501
Country
Brazil
1. Check if the reset button isn't stuck
2. Maybe you forgot connect the ATX12V/EPS12V on your motherboard
3. If your processor has video without the need for a graphics card, try turning your PC on without it.
4. Try turning it on with only one ram unit on the correct slot (check on your motherboard manual). If it doesn't work, try swapping the ram card, but use only one
5. Check if you haven't forgotten to plug any connectors from the PSU into your motherboard and also all the fans (they go onto your mobo)
6. There's also a power cable you should connect to your video card, check if you missed it
7. If it still doesn't boot, remove everything except the power and video cables. By everything I mean even your mouse and keyboard

That's all I can think of
 
  • Like
Reactions: 6adget

danny19901

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2016
Messages
403
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
1,093
Country
Hello
Recently, my 9 years old cpu simply ceased to function.
I had to buy a lot of new stuff in order to change of cpu
I have a new motherboard, new ram, new case and new cpu, the rest is from my old computer
The problem is, when i'm turning it on with the screwdriver method, the psu starts up running, the mb led turns on, and few seconds later, everything shuts down, the gpu fan never starting up.
Someone told me to try to turn it on without the gpu. The result was a bit different, with the system shutting down few seconds earlier than with the gpu plugged in.
Someone also told me to plug the ram stick in the slot 2 and 4 instead of 1 and 2, since i've only two ram stick and 4 ram slot.
I've also been told that maybe the cpu was just not set up properly within the slot, but tbh, i have no idea how to know WHEN it is correctly set up before starting the engine.
If anyone has any idea on what to do, please share
Thanks
Issue could be numerous things 1st thing I would look in to your bios also see if it needs an update also maybe try making a Bootable OS from USB to see if it will boot into it

Sent from my M2011K2G using Tapatalk
 

Noctosphere

Adoptive father of Zelda
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
5,300
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
In my sister's basement with kitty Zelda
XP
6,297
Country
Canada
1. Check if the reset button isn't stuck
2. Maybe you forgot connect the ATX12V/EPS12V on your motherboard
3. If your processor has video without the need for a graphics card, try turning your PC on without it.
4. Try turning it on with only one ram unit on the correct slot (check on your motherboard manual). If it doesn't work, try swapping the ram card, but use only one
5. Check if you haven't forgotten to plug any connectors from the PSU into your motherboard and also all the fans (they go onto your mobo)
6. There's also a power cable you should connect to your video card, check if you missed it
7. If it still doesn't boot, remove everything except the power and video cables. By everything I mean even your mouse and keyboard

That's all I can think of
I'll check all that when i have time, but there are a few things here i've already done
Issue could be numerous things 1st thing I would look in to your bios also see if it needs an update also maybe try making a Bootable OS from USB to see if it will boot into it

Sent from my M2011K2G using Tapatalk
I'm not even able to get to bios actually...
What do you suggest? How do i update a bios?
As fot the bootable os, well... as i just said... it doesn't even reach the bios, plus the correct os is in one of my ssd
 

danny19901

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2016
Messages
403
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
1,093
Country
I'll check all that when i have time, but there are a few things here i've already done

I'm not even able to get to bios actually...
What do you suggest? How do i update a bios?
As fot the bootable os, well... as i just said... it doesn't even reach the bios, plus the correct os is in one of my ssd
Sure it's not your PSU may not be high enough to handle your new tech can you give us a list of motherboard, CPU, GPU (if using 1), Ram,PSU etc... More we know about your build the easier we can narrow it down

Sent from my M2011K2G using Tapatalk
 

tech3475

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
2,536
Trophies
1
XP
3,284
Country
List the spec.

There are a few possibilities I can think of, but having this will help narrow it down.

BTW GPU fans not spinning on startup may be normal, presumably because the GPU isn’t hot enough, at least going by some of mine.
 

wiitendo84

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
1,250
Trophies
1
Age
37
Location
New Albany, Indiana
XP
2,829
Country
United States
Hello
Recently, my 9 years old cpu simply ceased to function.
I had to buy a lot of new stuff in order to change of cpu
I have a new motherboard, new ram, new case and new cpu, the rest is from my old computer
The problem is, when i'm turning it on with the screwdriver method, the psu starts up running, the mb led turns on, and few seconds later, everything shuts down, the gpu fan never starting up.
Someone told me to try to turn it on without the gpu. The result was a bit different, with the system shutting down few seconds earlier than with the gpu plugged in.
Someone also told me to plug the ram stick in the slot 2 and 4 instead of 1 and 2, since i've only two ram stick and 4 ram slot.
I've also been told that maybe the cpu was just not set up properly within the slot, but tbh, i have no idea how to know WHEN it is correctly set up before starting the engine.
If anyone has any idea on what to do, please share
Thanks
Ok, many reasons as to why this is happening.
Give us a list of everything.
CPU, GPU, Power Supply model, Mobo model, Ram speed and model, what type of HDD you're using, Pretty much a detailed list of your computer.
My GPU fan won't turn on until it gets hot, its a older model as well
Pictures would be great too, as that can help us look to see if everything is hooked up
I see that from what you typed the power supply is from your old computer. It is possible, that it isn't supplying enough power on boot, but once again won't know anything until we know what the specs are.
You say you power it on by the screwdriver method? I'm intrigued because I have never heard of this. Exactly what are you doing when you power it on like this?
The CPU should only go in one way and shouldn't be forced into the slot, so if it eases in there without much resistance, then you are ok on it. Make sure that the heatsink is attached properly and that you are using thermal paste as well.
Put pics on here of it built right now including the cables being hooked up to it. If possible, make a youtube video from your phone and post it on there. I don't mind watching it to see what is going on. I always say that two eyes are better than one, but here on this site, you got about several hundred that will look at it.
 

Armadillo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2003
Messages
4,152
Trophies
1
XP
3,978
Country
United Kingdom

Noctosphere

Adoptive father of Zelda
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
5,300
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
In my sister's basement with kitty Zelda
XP
6,297
Country
Canada
Ok, many reasons as to why this is happening.
Give us a list of everything.
CPU, GPU, Power Supply model, Mobo model, Ram speed and model, what type of HDD you're using, Pretty much a detailed list of your computer.
My GPU fan won't turn on until it gets hot, its a older model as well
Pictures would be great too, as that can help us look to see if everything is hooked up
I see that from what you typed the power supply is from your old computer. It is possible, that it isn't supplying enough power on boot, but once again won't know anything until we know what the specs are.
You say you power it on by the screwdriver method? I'm intrigued because I have never heard of this. Exactly what are you doing when you power it on like this?
The CPU should only go in one way and shouldn't be forced into the slot, so if it eases in there without much resistance, then you are ok on it. Make sure that the heatsink is attached properly and that you are using thermal paste as well.
Put pics on here of it built right now including the cables being hooked up to it. If possible, make a youtube video from your phone and post it on there. I don't mind watching it to see what is going on. I always say that two eyes are better than one, but here on this site, you got about several hundred that will look at it.
Hello
Thanks for the reply,
I'm not home right now
I'll post here asap the new component, but for the rest, you'll have to wait for me to be home
The only i know is the gpu, a gtx 1060 6gb
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Apparently Nintendo adapted the 3D All-Stars emulator, instead of their old Virtual Console emulator - or, if nothing else, copying what fans have done.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    from what i can seem to gather there's some issues but nothing dramatic enough to severely impact what you're playing
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    honestly the whole expansion pack confuses me since i thought the nes/snes games were just a neat little bonus
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    wait julie your bf is a femboy holy shit im jealous
    +1
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    So many planes flying overhead, and they sound close...
    Gift
  • DJPlace @ DJPlace:
    do you need friends to play the games online for the switch exapsion pack i know snes and nes do.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    @El_Doot well hey hot people do get more benefits in life
    Gift
  • J @ Jephter:
    Please I need help with this. I just homebrew my old 3ds console and downloaded a CIA file, but after surfing through for only 10 sec or less this appears. please can someone help me? Thank you in advance.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Start a new thread in the 3DS board, the chat box is not the best place to ask for such advice.
    Gift
  • Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    A week ago I got a payment request, through PayPal, from "[email protected]", who wanted US$64.
    Scam? Cancelled it anyway.
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    The note added to it simply said "Lucky Charms?", too.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    They're all after your Lucky Charms.
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Hayato213 @ Hayato213:
    at least lucky charm is quite popular, probably my favorite cereal.
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    I wonder...how would the gaming scene have changed had the Wii (and its bullshit motion controls and criminally neglected Classic Controller) failed?
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    Microsoft certainly wouldn't have experimented with the Kinect, that's for sure. Would Nintendo have released something like the Wii U early?
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    That would've had a different name, so as not to tie it to its failed predecessor (something the Wii U dearly wished it has gotten anyway).
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    PlayStation 2 already had that EyeToy thing before the Wii, and a whole lot of games supported it. Microsoft would have had something like the Kinect even if the Wii failed.
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Planning to buy a cronus zen to record inputs to negate mundane grinds/farming, anyone have it? How is it?
    Gift
  • E1ite007 @ E1ite007:
    For some reason, some Amazon reviews said it was a scam 'cause it launch there before they made an official launch on their webpage...anyway, according to people, it's good...it was gonna be my first option to buy when I wanted something to farm in games automatically, but then I backed down since tax fees and shipping would have costed me a fortune to Mexico...
    +1
    Gift
  • SaulFabre @ SaulFabre:
    Wii was a great sucess
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Plazorn @ Plazorn:
    It was, it surpassed the PS3 and XBOX 360 sells
    Gift
  • Gift
    SaulFabre @ SaulFabre: yep